Previews! 7/24/2011

Oh my gosh – I am so excited about this next week of blog posts I can hardly wait to get started.  With the help of friends, I was able to capture “almost” every event of the Festival of the Horse, and miraculously my camera started working like a champ again on Saturday afternoon for the Breed Show.  Below is a little preview of what’s to come in the next few days.  I sure hope everyone loves horses!

COMING MONDAY

Thanks to Mary Stancik from the Grand, you'll get to see the spectacular Carriage Parade through the streets of Mackinac Island.

COMING TUESDAY

The Breed Show held Saturday afternoon. You'll see over 20 breeds - from the largest, like this magnificent Percheron . . .

. . . to the smallest, like this precious miniature, appropriately named "Shortcake" . . .

. . . and everything in between - like this beautiful hackney from the Grand Hotel.

COMING WEDNESDAY

The heart-warming story of a "found" horse that played out at the Breed Show Saturday afternoon. You won't want to miss this one.

That will finish up the Festival of the Horse except for a few random photos that I’ll post on Thursday (you can expect several Friesians to be featured in that one).  Come Friday, we’ll be back on our “normal” schedule with something totally different than horses AND this week’s Mystery Spot – guaranteed to be the toughest one yet!

See you Monday morning!

9 thoughts on “Previews! 7/24/2011

  1. What a darling name for the miniature. I can’t wait to see all of the carriages, and the beautiful horses. Glad your camera is working again. Perhaps you “overworked” it in the heat! You may not need a new one yet!

  2. Brenda,

    Just the previews give me a thrill. I can hardly wait for the real thing!

    I’m glad your camera started working again, but don’t stop looking for a new one. I know you’ll be glad you did.

    Well, it’s off to church.

  3. Thanks so much for all the help on the trails and maps…we had an awesome weekend on the island. We hiked to sugarloaf and all over inside the island…my daughter, the XC runner, ran the entire 8.2 miles around this a.m. and Fri I did 4 and this a.m. I did 4…we brought our own bikes and of course loved biking, too…we have visited most of the regular touristy spots so we just walked, ran, biked all over…and shopped. 🙂 AND ATE FUDGE! We managed to catch the 2nd showing of the KUR…and the ladies who own those Freisians were sooo nice…they were happy we got to see it, too. I have a few pics of it on my facebook. We caught some of the carriage show this morning(Sunday). What a wonderful weekend…the weather on Fri and Sat was amazing…can’t believe we are home already! You are so fortunate to stay there in the summer…thanks for sharing that info again…we appreciate it and the map was very handy!

Leave a Reply

