And Then They Were Gone 7/22/2011

We have a winner on the Mystery  Spot contest!  She is Marianne Spina from Trenton, MI.  Please see end of post for Mystery Spot answer.

I guess I need to add a “rule” that if you have won a Mystery  Spot contest before, you won’t be eligible to win again.  If you’ve won and want to continue to send in your answers, please do, but we’ll have a “new” winner each week.  Also, please remember to only answer the question by email to me – not on the comment section.  Thanks so much for playing!

Ted and I sometime get complacent about living on the island.  So when visitors come, and we get out and do everything we haven’t done in a while, it reminds us how blessed we are to be on Mackinac during the summer season.  Cathy and Charlie’s visits are always filled with activity, and I know I’ve talked about and shown you places you’ve seen before.  But, for us, seeing them through someone else’s eyes is always rewarding.

Last Friday the four of us went up to Sunset Rock, which is near Stonecliffe Inn. Charlie was able to ride his scooter all the way up to the steps that lead up to the lookout, but didn't think he should try the climb. Even though he missed this view, he enjoyed the ride out there!

Sunset Rock is another of those places we don't get to often enough. It's definitely off the beaten path, but well worth the effort.

We rode most of the way to Sunset Rock on bikes, but when you reach a certain point, you have to walk the rest of the way. Please note that Cathy is now wearing a helmet!

As we made our way back to our bikes, we were lucky enough to watch a bride and her attendants walk across the lawn at Stonecliffe. We had passed the area where the wedding was being held - in a secluded little spot in the woods. We stopped and watched as this happy group laughed and chatted as they walked down to meet the rest of the wedding party.

We stopped in to have a beer and some popcorn at the bar of the Woods Restaurant . . .

. . . and we rode home through the Annex - another place Charlie hadn't visited.

After church on Sunday, we stopped for lunch in the Carriage House at the Hotel Iroquois. The view is always great there, and we had promised we would eat only a salad . . . .

. . . so we could have one of these for dessert. This is the "new" version of the Mackinac Puff. Instead of one huge puff, you get three small puffs. Each puff is filled with ice cream and the whole concoction is covered with the best chocolate fudge sauce you have ever - and I do mean EVER - had in your mouth. My absolute favorite dessert on the island - oh heck, it's my favorite dessert anywhere.

And yes, we each had one - nobody wanted to share.

Seeing visitors off is always sad, but I got two chuckles that morning. One was Charlie on his Red Ryder - loaded down with bags and his own personal chair - in case he should need one somewhere . . .

. . . and this great sign on a set of scales in the waiting area. I mean seriously - who would want to get on scales as they are leaving Mackinac Island???

A foggy photo from the morning Cathy and Charlie left. The freighter really looks eerie behind the breakwater.

Too soon, the ferry came, and we waved our goodbyes. We had so much fun, you guys! Love you, and see you next summer!

THE MYSTERY SPOT
The object of the Mystery Spot is to be the first to identify where the object is located. When you think you have the answer, email me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com. I’ll check my email several times a day, and as soon as we have a winner, I’ll post the winner’s name at the top of this blog so you can stop guessing, AND I’ll post the full photo of the mystery spot at the bottom of the blog with the answer. Is there a prize for the winner – yes there is; but the prize is secret, and the only ones who will know what it is are the winners. To be fair, I’m asking residents of Mackinac Island to please NOT guess. This is just for readers who don’t live here . . . but would like to! And the Mystery Spot is . . . .

Where is it?

Well, it’s been a pretty darn busy week.  I’ll post a pic or two on Saturday and Sunday, but that’ll be all until Monday.  I’m about to have a panic attack tonight because I think my faithful camera is finally about to go to camera Heaven.  I shot over 300 pics today at the Festival of the Horse, and maybe I can use 10 of them.  I’ve been having problems with it for several weeks, but I kept thinking, “Maybe it’ll fix itself.”  Today I think I got evidence that won’t be happening.  I’ll be researching cameras over the weekend and hoping mine will hold together at least until I can find a replacement.  Man, I hate giving up that little baby – she has sure served me well.

MYSTERY SPOT ANSWER

The Mystery Spot is the ceiling of lobby at Mission Point Resort. The massive logs come together at one point, forming the awesome center.

24 thoughts on “And Then They Were Gone 7/22/2011

  1. Hi Brenda!
    Is that the ceiling of the big room in Mission Point? I’ll be up to see it for sure on September 23-25th when the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators have their conference at Mission Point. That will be my last trip of the summer to the island. 🙂

  2. That dessert sure does look good, oh my! I don’t think I would have any problem eating that whole thing too…YUM! The freighter looks like a ghost ship in that picture. That’s really cool. One of the first things I noticed in the picture with Cathie going down those steps was her helmet. WTG Cathie! Time always seems to go by so fast especially when your on the island. I’m sure Charlie will have some new memories now that he was able to get around alot better.

  3. I understand getting complacent, but don’t take your time at the island for granted…it’s truely a magical place 🙂

  4. Love the picture of the freighter. I’m still in awe when I see them…just like I am when I see the bridge. I have no clue on the mystery spot. This must be a tough one.

  5. Hi Brenda,

    I wondered what you would do for multiple winners! It’s still fun trying to guess where the photo was taken.

    Pat Steele

    • LOL! It’s the second time it’s happened, Pat, but the first time the “second timer” wasn’t the first with the answer (did that make any sense?) YOU WERE, by 7 minutes over Marianne. Thanks for understanding!

  6. Brenda,

    I don’t know if my diabetes would let me eat that dessert, but I could get it just to look at the plate. Someone at the Iroquois sure has an eye for beautiful china.

    I understand that there comes a time when a new camera is needed, but it’s the Brenda behind the camera that makes the difference; and in your case, it’s a beautiful difference.

    • Ahhhhh …. there you go again, Lowell – making me smile before I’ve had my second cup of coffee. Thank you for the sweet words, my friend.

  7. Love the foggy freighter header….truly a rare shot to catch. Love your photos and yes, the camera and your “eye” for things has been joy for all of us. I know you will really miss your friends for a few days. I wouldn’t be surprised if they come back in the fall, now that Charlie can get around! It is so beautiful there in Oct., if the weather co-operates!

    • Great idea, Judy. Yes, Charlie & Cathy, start planning now for the return trip in October. Ted & Brenda can call you so you can get to the Island when the color is at its peak.

  8. That freighter looks like either the Wilfred Sykes or the former Charles M Beeghley ( I can’t remember its new name though).

  9. Thus far, the one mystery spot I knew! Mission Point….My fav place to stay on the islandI The round bar overlooking the straits is a great spot too! When a freighter goes by they’ll ring the bell & draft beer is $2.00 lol

    Awesome pics Brenda,,,thanks for sharing!

  10. Cathie said she would be willing to contribute to the camera fund if you can find one that doesn’t add 20 pounds.

    • LOL – If I find a “skinny lens”, I’ll take you up on that! Better yet – we’ll buy a bunch of them and make a fortune!

  11. We made it here and are enjoying our first trip on Mackinac Island. We leave tomorrow. Time has flown by, and I just can’t get over the beauty of this place. There are gorgeous photo ops where ever you look. We just happened to stop in the library today, and the view out of the back doors is unbelievable!

    Regen from S. Louisiana

Leave a Reply

