For Daddy 6/19/211

For Daddy

You read the “funny papers” to me every Sunday morning until I could read them to you – and you always laughed more than I did.

You taught me how to ride my bike – never even thinking about training wheels – “Go, Suga Buga”, you said. “You can do it!”

You only spanked me once – one tiny “pop” on my leg – and it broke my heart I had disappointed you.

You worked hard, and you taught me to work hard too – to show up, to be on time, to put my best effort into everything.

You were always fair, always honest, always good . . . and so very kind.

You only had a high school diploma, yet you were – and are – the wisest man I’ve ever known.

Mama was your queen, I was your princess, and God was your king.

You were my guide through all the highs and lows of my life.  And then you were gone, leaving me to forge ahead with what you’d taught me.

It surely was easier when you were here.

You’ll be my Hero forever.

When we meet again – as I know we will – my first words will be, “I love you, Daddy.” 

And you’ll grin, and you’ll hug me as only you can hug.

I wonder if there are funny papers in Heaven.

10 thoughts on “For Daddy 6/19/211

  1. What a beautiful thought, Brenda and how true.

    To all the fathers out there reading this, “Happy Father’s Day” from me (Judi in Detroit) to you. Hope all of you have a wonderful day.

  2. Beautiful Brenda! I hope our daddy’s are reading the funny papers together in heaven. They sound a lot alike. Your daddy and mom and our Father in heaven made a beautiful YOU!! Enjoy this glorious day!!!

  3. What a lovely post. I lost my father in October, but after battling Alzheimer’s for years, I know he is in a better place. I do miss seeing him. Enjoyed your photos of the lilacs from the previous post. Thanks for sharing your lovely thoughts and the many beautiful photos you capture of our beautiful Michigan Island! God Bless.

  4. What a beautiful tribute to your Dad…..I lost mine last August and this has really been a hard day for me. But I know that he is having a more beautiful day that we could ever imagine with our Lord. Thank you for sharing this with all of us!

Leave a Reply

