Inside – Looking Out 5/26/2011

 

Ted and I were downtown this afternoon and walked past Marquette Park to the Richard & Jane Manoogian Art Museum to see the Richard Wolfgang: Life of Painting exhibit. Although photographs of the art work aren't allowed, I did just happen to have my camera in my pocket and thought, "Didn't see any rules against photographing from the inside out!"

 

Peering out one of the art museum front windows across the street to the Mackinac Island Marina. Not a lot of boats moored there now, but just wait a few weeks - it will be wall-to-wall sailboats, motorboats, and yachts.

 
 

Clouds hang over the Arnold Ferry docks. After a bright, shining start to the day, clouds rolled in, the wind picked up, and the temps dropped. Hey, Spring! It's time to come out and play!

 
 

Looking out a side window to Marquette Park, Fort Hill, and Trinity Church. Leaves are appearing on the park Lilac bushes, and everyone is hoping they'll be in full bloom for the Lilac Festival June 10-19.

 
The Wolfgang Exhibit is wonderful!  If you plan to be on the island between now and July 14, please don’t miss the opportunity to go by and spend some quality time enjoying the work of this masterful artist.  While there, take the time to tour the entire museum, which is filled with everything from Native American baskets to modern-day paintings of the island by residents.  The historical treasures of the Mackinac State Historic Park’s collection are also showcased within the walls of the museum, originally constructed as an Indian dormitory in 1838.  A few years later the building became the public school for the island and remained so for over 100 years.  From 1966-2002, the building was open to the public and displayed historic Mackinac State Parks artifacts.  The Richard & Jane Manoogian Mackinac Art Museum opened its doors last summer in the completely renovated building, and we are so excited to have this new attraction on the island.
 
See you Friday morning with all the happenings of this week!
13 thoughts on “Inside – Looking Out 5/26/2011

  1. Hi Brenda,
    Sounds very interesting. I’ve always wanted to go in there so it’s on my list. I love Mr. Wolfgang’s paintings. His watercolors look so easy, but after trying watercolors for a while I know it’s not. It’s very difficult.
    The island looks so peaceful now, but watch out! July and August will soon be here.

  2. I so enjoy reading your blog.
    It’s been great seeing all your updates now that you’re back on the island.
    My husband and I come up every Memorial Day weekend together, then come back a couple more times during the summer with our sons.
    We dream of living here! Been coming here since our honeymoon 17 years ago!
    So excited…leaving first thing in the morning and staying till Sunday! Can’t wait to be back on the island! 🙂

  3. It’s no wonder my fifth grade report card read ‘doesn’t pay attention – stares out the window’!! Love your pictures!

  4. thank you my friend. I don’t know what I would do without my windows.Think they had to bring our glass on ships from france! Irene my report card always said that too. I was a dreamer,they saidalways looking out,HA! they didn’t know I was an explorer LOL

  5. We did visit the art museum when we were there last year. It was wonderful walking in each room and looking at all the beautiful artwork and treasures that were there. I had a hard time getting Bud away from the old maps that were in the first room. Chris Ann and Irene, I can only imagine what it was like going to school there and looking out those windows everyday. That alone had to make going to school worth it 😉

  6. I just wanted to say that I look forward to your posts every morning when I get to work. I don’t have the funds to go to Mackinac this summer, so I will live my vacation through you 🙂 It’s always been a very magical place for me. My family has been going there annually for as long as I can remember and it’s the only place on earth where I can be completely at ease and happy. I envy you for being able to live your dream every summer at such an idealistic place. Thanks for sharing your stories and pictures with the rest of us who aren’t able to enjoy the serenity that is Mackinac Island.

  7. Brenda,

    Do you realize that the pictures you have on this blog are among the best you have ever had. Of course, I think that almost every blog. I especially like the header and if you don’t mind, I want to save it to my Mackinac Island folder?

  8. Ooh, Bree! I am so glad you and your family are back on the Island. Thank you for ALL you do . . .it is so appreciated!!!!! It is so enjoyed by soo many!!!! Enjoy your summer!!!!!!

  9. As one who was just recently introduced to your blog, I can tell you I have enjoyed the island through your words and pictures…..I look forward to reading all the back glogs, as well as keeping up with your daily ones……Thanks for sharing this wonderful place with all of us who have/had many memories of this little piece of heaven on earth…

  10. Taking pictures from the inside, out! I love that idea!! Awesome pictures as usual. I never, never , never tire of reading your blog. It inspires me so much! Thankyou!

  11. Thank you for commenting on my blog. It’s always so great to connect with my readers. I”m thinking your part of the world is just beautiful….. and a whole lot cooler in the summer!:) I’m new to horses as you can see from my blog. I hope to get back down there and shoot again.
    V

Leave a Reply

