Where do I begin . . . . 5/19/2010

We’re here, we’re here, we’re here!  We’re on-line, we’re on-line, we’re on-line!

We were connected to cyberspace this afternoon, and my first impulse was to sit down and talk about everything that has happened since we arrived.  But . . . there is just so much to tell you that I would be up all night.  So . . . . I’m going to save that for Friday morning and tonight post some wonderful photos Jill took before we arrived.  As all of you who follow this blog know, Jill is my co-photographer/researcher/partner-in-crime, and the photos she posted while we were “incommunicado” are super.

Here they are, with captions.  Tune back in Friday morning for my first “official” post from the most beautiful rock on earth!

A freighter slips silently through the cut between the two Round Island lighthouses. I never tire of watching the freighters go by. Wouldn't it be neat to walk down that long deck!

 

This is the Carriage Tour "school bus". The driver in front is the "professor", and the "students" are behind her. She teaches - they listen. She narrates the "script" over and over, and they memorize. She gives instructions and directions and information about the horses, and they take notes. And when the professor decides each student is ready to graduate - and that happens ONLY when they are straight "A" students - THEY get to start driving!

 
 
 
 

Garbage truck - Mackinac Island style!

 
 
 

Nicole Doud, who owns Little Luxuries of Mackinac Island, took this cute shot of Jill modeling one of the many precious aprons Nicole's shop carries. Jill . . . apron. Jill . . . . cooking. Sorry, Jillski - it just doesn't commute.

 
See you Friday morning with all the first week excitement.  Hope you’ll forgive me for putting it off one more night, but when you find out what I’ve been doing for the last two days, you’ll understand why I needed to get a good night’s sleep tonight.  How’s that for a teaser! 
 
It’s so good to be back!
 
 
21 thoughts on “Where do I begin . . . . 5/19/2010

  1. So glad you made it! I understand that you are tired, I would be to! Tell Jill that her pictures are awesome!! She looks great with the apron and cookbook! I sure hope I run into here this summer and you also!! I will be there in August! I can’t wait for hour next blog! Have a great evening!

  2. So glad you made it happy and healthy. I can hardly wait for Fri. I’m so glad you got connected so soon. We are busy doing calisthenics to get ready to attack the rock….the most beautiful one in the world.

  3. Brenda,

    I didn’t think you would get the internet connection this soon. I figured it would be next week some time. Do you think they read my comment about putting on the hurry?

    I’m so glad you are all on the Island and settling in. I hope you’re enjoying Spring #2

    Jill -great photos. And thank you Nicole. Jill, maybe you could change jobs and become a chef at The Grand.

    Impatiently looking forward to the next blog.

  4. So glad you arrived safely. I know you did not have the best of weather to travel in. Jill’s pictures are awesome. Thank her for us. Get rested and I am anxiously awaiting your news.

  5. Yay, you made it safely. Can’t wait to hear about your trip and all you’ve been doing. Cute aprons, Jill. Every time I wear one at home my 94 year old mother-in-law says, “Oh, nobody wears those anymore, they’re too old fashioned!” I’ll bet she’d change her mind if she saw those cuties.

  6. From our computer desk in Lansing, we wached your arrival from the webcam on “Main Street”. WELCOME” back to Michigan! Don’t tell Maddie, but we only saw Bear frisking around while waiting to board the taxi. I am sure there will be many other occasions to see him in your close-up pictures. Have a happy summer.

  7. I also saw your arrival on the webcam and Jill as she waved to us on camera! Yeeaaa! Glad you made the trip safely and were able to get a connection so soon. We miss you when your not in cyberspace to communicate with.
    Great pictures Jill, I love the one Nicole took. The apron looks very becoming on you. 🙂
    Can’t wait till tomorrow to read all the happenings. Can’t believe your MAKING us WAIT! LOL!

  8. I wouldn’t be at all surprised if the Mackinac Island Tourism Bureau had something to do with you getting the internet connection so quickly! You are one of the Island’s best PR people, don’t you know!

    Sorry I missed you on the webcam – not for lack of checking, though. Happy spring and summer – So glad to have you back on island!

  9. Brenda,
    It IS the most beautiful rock, isn’t it! So glad you have arrived safely. Hopefully we will be able to make it there while we are up north this July. Let the summer games begin!
    Tracy

  10. I enjoyed finding your site last year.
    Looking forward to enjoying the Island vicariously again.
    Love your photo’s and commentary. Hoping to make a trip up in July.

    Remember – you cannot post too many pictures of the lilacs. 8^)

Leave a Reply

