Partying with Paula Deen 10/22/2010

I have had the biggest secret for several months about why we came home from the island two weeks earlier than usual, but have managed to keep my mouth shut (you just don’t know how hard that’s been – one day Ted had to tape my hands behind my back to keep them from writing about what I’m about to write about – just kidding, of course – but it’s been HARD)!  I just knew if I started blabbering about it, something would  happen, and the whole thing would get cancelled.  But it’s definitely going to happen, and it’s happening this weekend!

My sweet Ted and cook show diva Paula Deen graduated from Albany High School together in 1965 (she remembers him as “very shy” – LOL!).  Paula (I’ve never met the lady, but see how I am already on a first name basis with her) has invited some of her former classmates to her home in Savannah for a party, and we were lucky enough to be on the invitation list.  Saturday night we will be continuing the party at her brother’s seafood restaurant in Savannah (Uncle Bubba’s Oyster House).  Now if you happen to never watch the Food Network or read recipe books, and don’t know who the heck Paula Deen is, please click here: http://www.pauladeen.com/index.php/pdnew/paula and be introduced to the most Southern of the Southern Belles, who has turned her home cooking into a multi-million dollar industry.

We leave for Savannah Friday morning, after dropping Bear and Maddie off at the kennel (boy, are THEY going to be ticked)!

Cameras aren’t allowed at Paula’s house on Friday night, but on Saturday we will be able to get plenty of photos of the famous Albanian.  Can’t wait to tell you all about it!  Can you believe I kept that a secret all summer!

Header:  Jill sent this photo this of maintenance workers about to put up the snow fence at the Woods Golf Course (so snowmobiles can’t cut across the course).  And, would you believe it – there were snow flurries on the island today!

Personal Note:  Thank you for lifting Blake up this week.  His interview in Nashville on Wednesday went really well, but they are still talking to three other people also.  So – we’re back to waiting.  Please continue to keep him in your prayers.

34 thoughts on “Partying with Paula Deen 10/22/2010

  1. Wow!! I love to watch her show – she is always so bubbly and laughing so I’m very excited to hear your report from the weekend- have a wonderful time! And you sure did an awesome job of keeping that secret.

  2. I love Paula Deen . How exciting is this and you are a good secret holder. All of you have a wonderful time . You are going to eat so good:)

    Continuing to pray for you and yours.

  3. I love Paula Deen and always look for Paula’s cooking/baking staple when I watch her show: buttah!

    Have a wonderful time this weekend in Savannah. Sending positive vibes to Bear and Maddie who will no doubt survive the ignominious “pleasure” of being kenneled so soon after their grueling road trip!

    ; )

      • She certainly is! No cutting corners with Paula where flavor reigns supreme. Being vertically challenged and of a “certain age” I have to watch how much buttah I consume. {sigh}

        Can’t wait to hear “what’s for dinner” !!

  4. OMG! That!’s a special event for sure! I was beginning to suspect that there was a really good reason for y’all to leave early but I couldn’t think what it was. How exciting! And I don’t believe a word about the Lean Cuisine. What’s the point of going to an event llike that if not to be inspired?! Will we be treated to a winter of Friday Food shares like last year? 😉
    Still praying for Blake – hope they decide quickly!

  5. I absolutely love Paula and I love your blog so my two favorite people will be in the same house. Please, please try and get a picture of the two of you together and post it. That would be the greatest gift ever. Enjoy your weekend in Savannah and can’t wait to hear all about it!!

  6. So this is the party you mentioned early in your blog this year about why y’all had to leave the island a little earlier then usual! OMGosh! That is so awesome. I don’t have to hope you have a wonderful time because how can you NOT! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Blake is still in my thoughts and still wishing for the best .

  7. Partying with Paula Deen? How great is that! No wonder you left the island early! That sounds absolutely awesome. It will be such fun to hear all about it next week. Have a wonderful time!

    Darn! I missed the snow flurries on Mackinac by a week! That would have been neat to see!

    Sending prayers for Blake!

  8. Wow what a party that will be. She is wonderful. We enjoyed dinner at “Lady and Sons” several years ago. Enjoy Savanah, what a city. Be safe!

  9. Oh, what fun you’ll have! Her home looks gorgeous, inside and out. Can’t wait to hear what she serves – I love all things about food and cooking. It will all be good, no doubt about it! I wonder if she’ll feature this party on an episode? Y’all could be on TV!!

    Keeping Blake in thought and prayer for the right decision – but soon!

  10. Oh my gosh – you are one lucky girl! My daughter had dinner at Bubba’s place in June and loved it and yes, she has a picture with Bubba. I also have a daughter interviewing for a position for a social worker in the Twin Cities. I definitely feel your anxiety!!! Take care.

  11. Wow-I’ve heard that Paula Deen is an absolute hoot! You are going to have so much fun and most likely a very wonderful dinner.

  12. Bree,
    Thought I’d let you know that your blog about the Community Stable project has brought in over $300 in donations. All new donors to MICF. Thank you and tell Ted hi.

  13. EEEEEEeee! Paula Deen! How very cool! I admire the lady so much. She turned a tough life into a wonderful success. I wish I loved to cook as much as I like to eat. I’m so excited for you.
    I know you are going to have a wonderful time.

  14. Bree, you are in my second favorite spot. I love Savannah! One year I stayed on Tybee Ilsand and last year on River Street in a condo. Love, Love, Love…and to meet Paula Deen, how cool is that. Maybe you can invite her to visit Mackinac Island! Cannot wait to see how much fun you guys have.

  15. WOW!!! Since my part-time (and favorite) job is doing cooking shows in the homes of my friends, this is HUGE! I am so excited for y’all! Can’t wait to hear about it.
    Glad your sons interview went well, I know the Lord will put him in just the right place.

  16. Brenda, part of the reason I enjoy your blog is your honest joy and enthusiasm about all you encounter. I believe likes attract and it’s no surprise to me that you find yourself in the company of another southern belle that radiates a joy for living. I look forward to your report.

  17. heehee, I love your secret. I kept my mouth shut all season too. We had a very famous guest here. He comes once a year and we never tell.

    Have a great time. I cannot wait to read all about your adventure

  18. WOW! That is soooo cool! I know you’ll have an awesome time and have so much to tell us! It sounds like so much fun!
    Still praying for Blake! Have a great day!

  19. I just LOVE Paula!! I read her first book and was swept away into her story. How nice to be invited to her home!!

    Love the photo of the three of you!

    Have been praying for Blake for a long time now. I’d love for him to get a job close to a family member. He has been away for so long! I’m sure the Lord has a special place for him.

    My son-in-law, Bob, father of two, just took a test this past week and had an interview after the test. I hope everyone who reads this will pray for
    him. His employer had to close the shop in MI. He has been off work since May 1st. His l6 year old daughter just got her first part-time job (other than baby-sitting). She is so excited! She started this week end. I’m praying the Lord will find a safe place for him to work in.

    God Bless you all.

Leave a Reply

