A Night in Kentucky 10/18/2010

Yes, I know I said I wouldn’t post anything until we got to Georgia, but you really didn’t believe that, did you?

Just a quick note to let you know we have arrived safely in Richmond, Kentucky, have had dinner, and we’re about to call it a day.  I have SO MUCH to tell you, but it will have to wait another night or two.  I’ve posted a pic below and in the header that Jill took on the dock today as we were leaving – more on our wild ride to the ferry later in the week also!

Thank you so much for all the wonderful comments and for the safe travel prayers.  Please continue to keep us lifted up through Monday.  We’re hoping to arrive at the ri’vah late in the afternoon.  Talk to you soon!

23 thoughts on “A Night in Kentucky 10/18/2010

  1. Greetings weary travelers,

    You’ve made splendid time! Very happy to hear from you en route. I know you’ll be tired but happy to be home tomorrow evening. Bear and Maddie will be busy, nose(s) to the ground, investigating the “changes” that have taken place while they were away on holiday! You know what they say: “The nose knows!”

    Au revoir and safe travels,
    Susan

  2. Thank you for letting us know how far along you are and that you are having safe travels so far!
    I bet the farther South you get the more excited you are getting! Happy Monday!!

    • Thanks, Diane. You are right – ready to be home now. Sure I am glad I packed some “warm weather” clothes for this second day though. It is warm in Kentucky.

  3. More safe travel wishes as you continue your journey. It won’t be too much longer now until you step foot into your ri’vah home. Can’t wait to hear everything that’s been happening!

  4. Had to catch up with the last few posts this morning. Thanks for a wonderful season of Mackinac beauty! I wish you safe travels and a peaceful time in GA.

  5. Do they know? Bear and Maddie…that they are heading back to their ri’vah home?

    Continued safe travels to you all..

      • That is a great question, and I would say they just thought they were going for a long ride. BUT – as soon as we turned onto our street and went over the railroad track, they were both up and staring out the window – all excited. So even if they didn’t realize it at first, when we made that “oh so familiar turn and hit those bumps”, they knew exactly where they were! By the time we turned into our driveway, they were both going nuts!

  6. I read your post Saturday with sadness, knowing I was losing my Island connection. I checked the blog this morning to see if any more comments had been added to Saturday’s blog and was pleasantly surprised to see you had posted. Sending wishes for your continued safe travel.

    I’m wondering if it felt strange to be driving a car again after so long. I know after my week on the Island in September, I have to admit it felt good to get behind the wheel of my car again. I never go that long without driving and it felt good to be back in the driver’s seat.

    Thanks for the post and God speed!

  7. After reading your blog for most of the summer, it’s a little sad to know you won’t be on the island until next summer. I will miss all the pictures and comments! I love when Bear and Maddie write their own blogs! Every time you wrote, I felt like I was right there with you! 🙂
    I’ll be here checking for new blogs while you’re in Georia and I can’t wait for next summer! I hope have safe travels the rest of the way to Georgia!

  8. Lowell has a point. After you are at sea for a long time you need to adjust to your land legs. How long did it take you to get your “car legs” again? Thanks for posting. It makes our abrupt separation a little easier. Love to all in the truck and tell Bear that the entire back seat really could be shared if he wanted to. BE SAFE.

    Cathie

  9. safe travels to you. What a wonderful person you are that you now have thousands of people following your trip “in spirit”. The magic of Mackinac goes with you, beyond the Island.

  10. Like Bob Hope said…..”Thanks for the memories”…..and the wonderful photographs….and your poetic commentary in all your blogs last year and this summer.
    Hope this finds you safely back home. Looking forward to your GA blogs…however randomly suits you… and of course, when you don’t feel like writing….”just let Bear or Maddy do it!” (You do their blogs in such a convincing way that they penned them instead of you!)

  11. I grew up in Michigan and spent every summer vacation at my grandparents’ cottage on Carp Lake. Mackinac Island was always a place to go and visit on our vacations. So, it’s with great fondness that I read your blog. Imagine my surprise to read that you had a lay-over in Richmond, Kentucky. Not too far from me in Frankfort — my new home! I LOVE Kentucky and its beauty, but I do miss the lakes of my “growing up” home. Thanks for sharing the photos and snippets of your days on the Island. It makes me feel like I have the best of both worlds!

Leave a Reply

