My Own Semi-Private Rant 8/24/2010

Very, very seldom will you find me writing a negative post.  In fact, I don’t think I’ve EVER written a negative post.  Until today.

Ditto on writing a post where I have to get something off my chest.  Never, EVER.  Until today.

So here goes.

I spent several hours this afternoon trying to sqeeze my Size XL old body into clothes made for Size ZERO 12-year-olds.  I am depressed.

Seriously, s-e-r-i-o-u-s-l-y!  What’s the deal with fashion these days!  I mean, I know I haven’t shopped for anything since I retired except shorts, t-shirts, jeans, and sweatpants. Well, I did have to buy snow clothes for the island trip in February – but those clothes are supposed to make you look like the Michelin Man.

Here’s my dilemma.  Two – count them – two dressy events to attend this weekend.  I’ve never set foot in the Mackinac Island Yacht Club, but I am smart enough to  know that shorts and a t-shirt are not going to work.  We have a dinner there Friday night. 

Sunday night it’s dinner at The Grand.  And even though the dress code has been relaxed for that event, “relaxed” at The Grand means you don’t have to be dressed formally, but you should at least look like you’re heading for a really, really classy evening out.  Shorts and a t-shirt won’t work there either.

What do ladies of a certain age and weight do?  When I look on the clothes racks for my size, I am faced with dresses and suits that remind me of somebody’s Aunt Gertie Mae – enough material in the skirts of those things to hide a baby elephant and a couple of medium-sized ponies.  And everything this year is covered in ruffles and lace – so cute on darling teenagers and 20-something’s – so ridiculous on those of us on Social Security.  Put ruffles and lace on me, and I look like a 62-year old Pillsbury Dough Girl dressed for her prom.  It’s sad.  It’s just sad.

So – Tuesday I’m driving to a couple of nearby towns to try and find a ladies shop for older women who want to look stylish, classy, and really thin – even if  they aren’t.  Hopefully, Wednesday morning you won’t have to endure another tantrum like this one. 

I’m going to stop writing now because I’m extremely disappointed in myself for heaping all of this on you, my precious readers.

I have to admit though, I feel much better now that I’ve expressed my feelings.  But I’m still depressed enough that I will probably have to eat all four of the giant cookies I bought at Martha’s Sweet Shop on my way home – two chocolate chip, two peanut butter.

Do they still make muu-muu’s?

33 thoughts on “My Own Semi-Private Rant 8/24/2010

  1. Brenda,

    I’m a man, but I do understand. My wife, Faye, has a terrible time. For some reason it has been decreed that women are not to wear nice dresses anymore. Apparently, store owners and buyers have all become dummies. And that’s not meant to be a pun. Those people just don’t have much upstairs. Well, maybe it is a pun, but you get the point.

  2. Bree, I’m with you re: ~ruffles~ on everything. Too much for someone like me who is petite and of a “certain age”. The adage, less is more, is something I stay with. Classic, unruffly (de-ruffled??!!) lines. I don’t want to look 20! Good Luck shopping. We’ll stay tuned for pictures. You’ll look lovely, I’m sure. You are hardly the Goodyear Blimp.

  3. You might have to go to GAYLORD. Haven’t ever had any luck finding clothes in Cheboygan.
    “Good Luck”….that’s why everyone on Mackinac shops those mail order catalogs in the recycle bin at the Post Office!!!

  4. Petosky was our regular haunt – the JC Penney’s – don’t even know if it’s still there!
    Buying clothes has never been a favorite thing for me!! And I guess one of the left-overs of growing up on Mackinac Island is that I still do a lot of my shopping in catalogs!! Lands End has some nice, dressy casual stuff – just sent off for another Necessary Knits combo today.
    The last time I got a dress in one of the Island shops, my aim was to look OLDER, not Younger (I think I was 14 or 15 and wanted something sophisticated!!)

    BTW, rants aside, I love your header photo today!!

  5. Are there any Coldwater Creek stores up your way? For the last few years I have had great luck w/ them. Look on line, maybe they could overnight something to you. I was on the Island in July, had two events at the Grand, one of my dresses was from Coldwater Creek. NO ruffles. Good luck.

  6. I am also annoyed by all the ruffled stuff out this -as if we all wanted to curl our hair in ringlets and be Shirley Temples and sing. Good luck finding your outfits and never worry about “ranting” to us…because a lot of us are in the same boat..and it’s not “the good ship lollipop!” 🙂

  7. I had to smile as I read this Brenda. Even your rants are so eleqantly written. I’m sure you will come up with something. By Sunday night we will be on the island, not at the Grand this time, but thats ok 🙂 Enjoy your events and don’t worry so much, you’ll be fine!

  8. I’m going to agree w/Mary Lou. Something bright and cheerful paired with some nice black slacks would be lovely! All of the colorful summery stuff should be on sale so it won’t be quite as painful!

    Good luck and have fun!

  9. Best bet for shopping in Northern Michigan is Traverse City, but it’s a good two hours from Mack City. There is a Macy’s and a Kohl’s, and several downtown shops from which to choose. Petoskey and Gaylord would be my next choices – Gaylord has a Kohl’s out on the west end of town. Good luck!

  10. You are funny…started my day with a laugh AGAIN!!! We all suffer from this (except for Judy perhaps!). BLACK is my favorite. All black with a stunning scarf and great earrings! You are not big to begin with, and they say pix add 10 lbs.so….do not worry!!! I hope you enjoyed the cookies on the way home….my kind of gal!! I’m sure there is not one person reading this that has not gone thru this ordeal, men and women alike!! Besides, they are making the sizes smaller now because everything is made for US in other countries! You will look great, walk in, smile and don’t worry!! Have a great time!!

  11. Funny.

    We will be in on the island on Friday for a long weekend for our little slice of relaxation. Once our feet hit the ferry boat, it seems like life’s enormous stresses just seem to melt away. Can’t wait!!! The weather forecast looks perfect for Fri, Sat, & Sun.

    • You are right, Dave! The weather looks perfect for the weekend. I know exactly what you mean about the relaxing part. Even though I’m leaving the island for a short time today, I will be counting the minutes until I can get back on that ferry coming “home”. Safe travels, and have a wonderful weekend on the Island.

  12. You’re just being REAL! And I like it when women are just real with life’s circumstances. Hope you find something, and that you enjoy your two events.

  13. Hi Bree,
    Happy Tuesday..hope the shopping is going well. I find that styles are either too young for me or too old. That can get aggravating!
    Take care, have a blessed week.
    🙂

  14. Hi Bree,
    I’ll be at the Grand for dinner Sunday night also. Our group (six couples) is coming up for our annual Mackinac week. Hope to see you there… Happy shopping!

    • We will be at a special event there, Joan – not in the main dining room. But who knows – we might still run into each other.

  15. Charlevoix & Petosky is where I’d start shopping. Leland is great too, but a bit of a drive. Hope your shopping is going well. I agree with Jill re: Cheboygan. Ix-nay.

  16. You crack me up! I feel your pain though. When I was looking for dressy clothes for my stay at the Grand back in May, everything I found was clingy. I’ve had two kids so clingy and me don’t work well together! Good luck finding something!!!

  17. Hi Brenda, had to come back and tell you that I am so happy that you and my parents were able to meet up on Monday! That is awesome! I miss the Island..would love to get up there more often.
    Take care!

  18. You are not alone! Recently I covered Albany along with every catalogue that I have trying to find a cocktail dress for my neice’s wedding. It’s ridiculous how the market caters to young girls and offers a few “granny” clothes. We need more stores that have stylish clothes for seasoned women like us. Even my favorite stores (out of town of course) have started only carrying fairly casual clothes, nothing dressy. Maybe we should start our own line of clothes!

  19. Uh…yeah. I can relate. But then again, I’d rather eat fried chicken and drink sweet tea than be a size 6.

    Anyway, I always find nice classic styles at Talbot’s and Coldwater Creek is good for more casual outfits.

  20. I feel your pain! Not only do stores not have things for the “young at heart” but I’m only 4′ 11″ tall and they may have petites but not real petites. Anything I buy must be shortend–petite slacks as much as 5 inches. Good luck with your shopping today.

  21. I, too, am 4’11” (and 1/2″ !!) and everything has to be hemmed. I have to say Talbot’s has been hit with the “ruffle bug” as well. I want tailored, clean lines on my small frame. Hope Bree has had luck today with her purchases.

  22. I know what you mean Bree! I wonder if Mackinaw City would have anything dressy enough? If not I know you will come up with a faboulous outfit! Good luck shopping!

  23. So after all this wondrous advice, what lucky store got your business? and what did you wear?

    I know they don’t have my size (but I don’t have to buy much anymore either) but you are not
    l a r g e, lady.

    I go crazy with desire when my Coldwater Creek catalogues arrive in the mail, for the art, the earings, the candles, the beautiful clothes and colors of the season they always have and the trim lines of the clothes modeled, that is my “fantasy self” — and I can add up $500+ unheard of bucks in no time of things I want.– however, I’ve taken up yoga and have to accept myself just as I am. Just get a mat the next time fashion upsets you!

    • I found a great little new shop in Cheboygan, Black, White & More. Went nuts in there, and going back before heading south for winter. You’ll see a pic of what I wore at the end of the blog entitled something like “What’s a Little Traffic Jam Among Friends”.

Leave a Reply

