A Child and A Horse 7/23/2010

“Horses and children, I often think, have a lot of the good sense there is in the world.” . . .  Josephine Demott 

I rode down to the Burroughs Lot  Thursday afternoon to check out what was happening at the Festival of the Horse on its first offical day.  I’m not volunteering until Friday morning, but I knew there were pony rides scheduled Thursday, and children and horses together would have to equal cute photos.  I arrived to find Burroughs buzzing (I don’t think I’ve ever mentioned the Burroughs Lot in this blog, but that is the offical name of the space between the school playground and the Grand Hotel tennis courts).  Only two rounds of pony rides were planned for the day, but the demand was so great a third round had been added.  For $5, a child got to put on a safety helmet, get booted up into the saddle, and led around the large showring (twice) by a knowledgable horse person.  I don’t know when I have seen so many delighted little girls and boys – and the moms and dads were pretty much beaming also!   

The 4-H Club students, who are taking horseback riding classes this summer on the island, received instruction from Leesa Massman.

  

Leesa's clinics included Showmanship and Western Equitation.

Ann and Leanne check out some last minute details under the volunteer tent.

  

Ann, Frankie, and Rosalie discuss all the items on display for anyone interested in learning about horses.

  

There were lots of fun games for the kids - including "Pin the Tail on the . . . Horse!"

  

The horses were given lots of rest time and fresh water between clinics and providing rides for the children.

  

Parents were welcome to walk with their children out to the horses and could also walk alongside the horse their child was riding. A skilled horseperson walked with every child also.

It’s very seldom that I will post photographs without captions, but the rest of the photos just don’t need words.  What they show are very happy children getting the thrill of a lifetime.  For some, this will be the beginning of a life-long love of horses, and for the rest it was just ten minutes of pure fun.  

 

 

  

 

 

  

 

  

 

  

 

  

 

  

 

  

 

 

 

With two more packed days to go in the Festival, there will be plenty to talk about and show you on Monday.  I will probably post a photo or two on Saturday and Sunday morning, but I’ll save tons of great stuff for Monday’s post.  Have a great weekend – and God bless.

8 thoughts on “A Child and A Horse 7/23/2010

  1. What a fun time already with those adorable kids getting to ride on the horses. Sounds like a fun festival weekend – have a wonderful time!!

  2. The horses are all so beautiful. Makes me wish I had been in 4-H classes when I went to school, although I don’t think they had those then. 😉 Can’t wait to see more pics! Have a wonderful time at the rest of the festival.

  3. You’re so right – some photos simply don’t need captions. These sure make you smile!
    I don’t remember Festival of the Horse from my times on the island. Do you know when it started? Thanks!

  4. Brenda,

    Those are beautiful pictures, but I was wondering. Do you know why little boys are not allowed to ride horses on The Island?

Leave a Reply

