Tulips, Tulips, Tulips 5/25/2010

I walked by the Grand today, and the tulips are just so gorgeous.  They won’t be here for very long, so I need to photograph them before they become just a memory.  Here are a few tulip shots for your dash of Mackinac today!

These multi-colored, swirly-patterned tulips are different from any I remember from last spring. Beautiful!

Beautiful Grand Hotel, beautiful tulips, beautiful Bear.

I sat down on the curb and shot over the tulips to get this shot. The red and white striped building is the Jockey Club Restaurant.

. . . . and the fireplace came! 

 
 

We love it!

So there you go – I promised ya’ll one photo, and you got four – not too good at restraining myself, am I.  See you tomorrow!

Practice excessive happiness.” . . . Patch Adams

23 thoughts on “Tulips, Tulips, Tulips 5/25/2010

  1. Oh Bear does look so beautiful among those tulips. what a picture!! He looks so proud and strong! Like he is saying I am king of tulip mountain!!!
    I love your new fireplace it looks fantastic. I really like the rock around it.
    Thanks again for a great blog and your great pictures.

  2. Beautiful pictures of those tulips at the Grand. I too love how Bear is sitting proudly posing for your picture.
    The fireplace looks fantastic.

  3. I LOVE the picture of Bear in the tulips! Do you mind if I use it as my background picture for a few days? The striped, swirly tulips are so pretty. Your fireplace looks great where it’s at and I too love the rocks around it. Thanks for the one..err 4 pics Brenda 😉

  4. Hooray pictures!! Those tulips are beautiful and Bear looks right at home among them 🙂
    Love the fireplace! Happy Tuesday

  5. Beautiful pictures of the tulips. They go quickly but you have given them to us forever. Bear amid the tulips is great. The fireplace–what can I say but I love it. Thanks for sharing with us.

  6. Brenda,

    As far as the condo goes, all I can say is, “You’ve done it up good.”

    My wife and I love tulips, so thank you for the beautiful pictures. Years ago, we lived in Austin, Texas, and although it’s a wonderful city and has its own beauty, we did miss the tulips and the colors of autumn in Michigan.

    By the way, what does Bear think of being a male model?

    • Bear’s daddy was one of the ten top golden retrievers in the U.S. in points in national dog shows. He was bred to show, but was more of a “giant lapdog” than driven for the show ring. So, at the age of 13 months, we had the pleasure of buying him so he could fulfill his destiny of being top “big” dog in the Horton house. He poses naturally, though, because that’s what he was trained to do. He’s a big dollbaby!

  7. LOVE the fireplace, it looks perfect in the room and Bear looks SO magestic setting among those beautiful tulips.

  8. You tell Bear that if he ever decides to run away from home, he’ll be welcome at my house. He’s got be one of the most beautiful dogs I’ve ever seen.

    Of course, the way he’s treated in the Horton household, I don’t think he’ll be leaving anytime soon. He must know how well he has it. No wonder he’s so willing to pose so well.

  9. Have enjoyed your blog since finding it last year. Heading to the island tomorrow with a large group of 4th graders from Jones Elementary School in Gladstone. The kids are singing on the porch at the Grand. Then we get to enjoy the buffet! As a lifelong UP resident I’ve never had the pleasure of actually eating there. Looking forward to it! If you see a group of tired adults dragging behind a lot of kids, that’ll be us 🙂

    • LOL, Ann. I walked up the hill to the Grand this afternoon behind a group of students from Holly Academy, and the adults in the group fit your description to a “t”. The kids were having a ball, and the grown-ups looked a little shell-shocked!

      What time does your group sing tomorrow?

      • The schedule says 2:00 pm. My daughter is so excited tonight to go. We took our two girls to the island before Labor Day last year for the first time. Hope she gets some rest. We leave here at 5:30 AM!

      • I can’t promise what my schedule will be tomorrow, but if possible, I might pop down there and see if I can get a pic of your group singing. If I do, would it be permissible to use it on the blog? No worries if parents might not approve.

  10. Thanks for posting the beautiful pictures! I love the fireplace! Beautiful and so is bear with the tulips!

  11. Bear’s sitting amongst the tulips singing “Tip Toe Through the Tulips” ??? They are beautiful!!
    The fireplace is perfect…y’all done good!

  12. Were you there Brenda? I didn’t see your message until just now but as I was following my three charges to the bathroom at the Grand after they sang I had the realization that I might have passed you! Beautiful day on the island. I have a small favor to ask you if you might. My daughter discovered the $2.00 mood ring she bought at the Trading Post before leaving the island fell off her hand somewhere between St. Ignace and home. If I describe it, would you go on a little shopping mission for me when you are downtown again? You can reach me privately at my email if you are interested 🙂

    • Hi Ann! I was there! Your group was so cute, and I loved the songs. I asked two or three “grown-ups” if they knew an “Ann”, but no one did. I know how it is with groups of parents though – not everyone knows everyone else. I got several pics and will be glad to email you a couple of the best ones. I’m afraid none of them are great, because the children were standing in the shadow of the porch.

      I’ll be glad to help you out with the mood ring. Just email me at brendasumnerhorton@hotmail.com and let me know what I can do.

Leave a Reply

