Weekly Update 04/19/2010

Good Monday morning!  I am happy to report that this blog post is being produced on my brand spanking-new Acer laptop.  I have had it now for 6 days, and (so far), it is still working!  I bet you can see my smile from where you are sitting!  

I don’t have a lot to report today, but I will give you what I’ve got.  

OPENINGS  

Horn’s Bar and the Seabiscuit Cafe opened this past week.  Little Luxuries, one of my favorite shops on the island, is opening April 29.  I can’t wait to see what goodies Nicole will have stocked this year!   

 
 
 
 
 

The Friesian Force in front of the Seabiscuit Cafe last fall.

 
  SNOW – TWO WAYS 

I heard from several islanders that they awoke to snow flurries again one morning last week.  Mother Nature continues to act like a cranky old lady who can’t make up her mind what she wants to do.  Ted and I are looking forward to getting to the island so we can experience first-hand whatever is happening each day and then report it to all you Mackinac Island fans. 

 And speaking of snowing – my island friend Leanne, who is the director of the Mac Island Recreation Department reported on Saturday, “It’s snowing!  Hair that is! The ponies are shedding and shedding and shedding. You can see where they roll in the turn-out by the blanket of hair they leave!  I come home with my own new coat of hair every time I groom them.  Thankfully, it’s not the horse hair I’m allergic to.  A beautiful sunny day on Mackinac!”  

 
 
 
 
 
 

My friend Leanne Brodeur

 MYSTERY SOLVED 

Everyone has been wondering what was going into the building where 3 Brothers Sarducci has sold pizza for many years.  The building has been renovated over the winter, and according to Facebook, a new pizza parlor – Island Slice –  is opening soon.  Can’t wait to check it out! 

ALWAYS READY 

 The Mackinac Island Fire Department has been busy this month conducting fire drills.  This is an all-volunteer department, and every able-bodied man on the island is a firefighter.  Several members of the department will travel to Indianapolis this week to attend a FDIC training conference.  The members will bring back what they learn and share it with the rest of the department. 

 
 
 
 
 
 

A vintage photograph of the 1939 fire in the Nicolet Tea Room. The fire was started by a cigarette in a wicker basket. The house, which was saved, is next to the Windemere Bed & Breakfast.

Firefighters practice with the ladder truck at the Windemere.

  

A Mackinac Island firefighter practices rapelling off Lookout Point.

I’ll close today with a photograph my friend Jill took last June on the island.  It shows a horse-drawn wagon filled with beautiful hanging baskets, which were being hung from every lamp post on the island.  Beautiful! 

 

See you back here next Monday, and by then we will be only three weeks away from the trip north!  God bless. 

 

5 thoughts on “Weekly Update 04/19/2010

  1. Brenda,

    There are so many wonderful fragrances in this world, but there are none that can top, or even equal, that of lilacs. Of course, I may be just a little prejudiced about that. Our wedding date was May 7, 1960 and here in southern Michigan the lilacs were in full bloom. Before that, during the 1954 Lilac Festival, I was able to be in the parade. I was only 15 at the time. I don’t remember what I wore or why I was in the parade, but I do remember pulling Nancy Chambers in a wagon. Nancy’s mother, Joyce, walked with me. Nancy was the granddaughter of Ella Chambers, the owner of The Arch Rock Curio Shop. The last I knew Joyce was living in Wisconsin and I don’t know where Nancy is living. Wouldn’t it be something if she reads your wonderful blog?

  2. Lowell…I KNOW Nancy reads Bree’s Blog but I’ll make SURE she doesn’t miss this one & tell her to read your post!

  3. Thanks for the wonderful update Bree! I loved the 4 lilac posters and wouldn;t know which one to pick either! I know you can’t wait to get back to the island as I can’t wait for your daily blog! Take care! Michelle

  4. Bree … my 20-year old son (we are from detroit area) is a “bike shop guy” and would like to work on the island this summer. Any suggestions for contacts? I figure you know everyone! scott@truen.com

Leave a Reply

