Weekly Update 03/15/2010

Jeannette Doud, who writes the Mackinac Island column for The Town Crier and The St. Ignace News, said in her column this week “there will probably be a winter storm on the island during St. Patrick’s Day week” – according to Jeannette, it’s almost a “given”.  If it comes this year, it will truly be a surprise.  I checked out the webcams on the island this weekend, and the snow has simply disappeared.  I snapped this picture from the Horn’s Bar webcam at 6:30 p.m. Sunday evening, and as you can see, snowmobiles are out, and bicycles are in.  I personally hope Jeannette is right – one more snow before spring!

The 10-day forecast for the island calls for lows in the 30’s and 40’s and high’s in the 50’s.  This has been one of the warmest and one of the most snow-free winters islanders have experienced in many years.  What makes it even more amazing is that last year’s winter was one of the worst, with the island snowed in from the first week in November through the first part of April.  Mother Nature has certainly been confused this year.

With the weather as warm as it is, Arnold Ferry Line will begin operation on Monday, March 15, with the first boat arriving on the island at 8 a.m.  Right now the ferry is only running from St. Ignace. Islanders are so excited to have the boat back, even though it will be running on a limited schedule at first.

The Coast Guard icebreaker, Mackinaw, was slowly working its way back and forth last week, cutting through the ice still left in the Straits. With the opening of the Straits, more and more freighters will begin to make their way through the cut, and the Soo Locks are opening four days early this year also.

The Mackinaw, a Coast Guard icebreaker, makes its way into the harbor at Mackinaw City on March 10.

 
My heart is beginning to make its annual turn toward the island.  With surgery coming up on the 24th, I’m turning even more to the island to bring me peace for the days ahead.  I can close my eyes and be back there in an instant – walking on the trails, heading downtown to Doud’s or the bookstore, hiking up to Ft. Holmes for some solitude, looking forward to movies at Mission Point, reconnecting with friends from last year.  But even with the anticipation of the joy the island brings, there will be again the sadness of leaving our home and friends here.  We have had a wonderful winter – a REAL winter by Georgia standards, and we have loved it.  We are hoping that more of our lake friends will come north this summer, and the ones who came last year will come again.

 

Mike Forrester, who is almost as big a Mackinac Island fan as I am, sent me this photo this week.  He just got his new car tag.  Can you guess what the numbers are?

Mike's new car tag - the Mackinac Island zip code. Gee, I wish I'd thought of that!

When the Grand Hotel dug up their tulip bulbs last spring, we got a huge sack of the bulbs and gave them to everyone we could think of – even shipped some to Cathie & Charlie in New Orleans and Rho & Buzz in Virginia.  Stevie and Dawn took some home with them, and when I rode over to Dawn’s to go walking this week, they were beginning to come up.  Mike told me his and Jeanine’s were coming up also in Atlanta and talked about how cool it was that last spring these same bulbs were seen blooming by thousands of tourists on the island.

A Grand Hotel tulip breaks through the ground in Georgia amid sprouting daylily bulbs.

The header this week is NOT how a typical trail on the island looks right now.  I shot that photo on July 4 last summer while walking home from town.  I just thought everyone might need a little taste of things to come!

That’s it for now.  Have a wonderful week, and good Lord willing, I will see you back here on Monday, March 22.  God bless!

7 thoughts on “Weekly Update 03/15/2010

  1. I’m so looking forward to going to the island…my only wish is that I could spend more then a few days there. For now, I guess that will have to do.

  2. Had a phone call from Alyssa and she and others were glad that the ferry was starting back up today on the Island and they were planning a shopping trip to St. Ignace!! She is planning on staying and working on the Island this summer after all. Putting applications in..I’ll keep you updated!! Looking forward to when you get back there!! (But have loved your Georgia blog too!) God Bless! 🙂

    • Hi Alice! I’m so glad I’ll be seeing Alyssa again this summer! She got lucky with the boats starting early. She shouldn’t have any trouble finding a job with her experience. Keep me updated!

  3. Thanks so much for the Island update! It won’t be long and you will be back there! Good luck with your upcoming surgery also. Great pictures!

  4. Brenda,

    In my wanderings around the internet, I ran across an excellent interactive map of Mackinac Island. I think you and/or your readers may be interested: http://www.mackinac.com/maps/flashmap.html

    We live about 50 miles north of the Indiana line in Michigan and FYI I noticed today that the lilac buds have begun to swell (just barely) and on the south end of the house the daffodils and narcissus are up about an inch. I think I told you that Spring is usually about 3-4 weeks behind the calendar, but this year I have been pleasantly surprised by the early Spring temperatures, although there are still a few patches of snow left. So it won’t be long until Spring will be in full bloom -even on The Island.

    • Hi Lowell!

      For some reason my wordpress adm. threw your comment into the section that I have to “approve” before it shows up. It was probably because there was a “link” in the comment. I have approved it, so it is in the comment section now.

      The map is FABULOUS, and no, I had not seen it. I will be sharing it with my readers in Sunday island update. Thanks so much!

      Brenda

Leave a Reply

