An Autumn Mosaic 10/21/09

How could I possibly choose which season is the most beautiful on Mackinac Island?  Since I won’t be here for winter, I can’t choose that one – even though I’ve seen pictures and know it is breathtaking.  But I haven’t seen winter with my own eyes – yet.  Of the three seasons I’ve witnessed firsthand, I will have to say it’s a dead even tie between summer, with its unbelievable flowers, and fall, with its unbelievable leaves.  If I stayed for a winter, there would probably be a three-way tie.  I don’t want you to think that spring is not pretty.  It is.  But, this year at least, it was also cold and wet.  Still – I am blown away everytime I go back and look at my photos this spring of the tulips in front of the Grand.  Oh my goodness, what a beautiful sight.

Today, I just want to share fall with you.  The photos are not all of leaves – but are more of a patchwork of images that make us think of Autumn and colder weather.  When I was scanning through these, picking out the ones I wanted to share, I couldn’t help but begin to feel the reality of what a short time we have left here this year – only days really.  When I go downtown now, taxis are lined up in the street, waiting on fares.  After Tuesday of next week, we will have to call ahead and make reservations for a taxi, because there will only be one.  I just can’t imagine it.

Before I go all teary on you, here are some pictures to make you (and me) smile.  Enjoy!

A beautifull maple tree behind the school.

A beautiful maple tree below the Carriage Museum.

A pumpkin and Halloween candy display at Doud's Market.

A pumpkin and Halloween candy display at Doud's Market.

Bear is almost camouflaged in the fall leaves.

Bear is almost camouflaged in the fall leaves.

A tree seen through the latticework of a gazebo.

A tree seen through the latticework of a gazebo.

Same tree, same gazebo

Same tree, same gazebo.

The bulbs that will result in beautiful spring tulips at the Grand, ready for planting.

The bulbs that will result in beautiful spring tulips at the Grand, ready for planting.

A few hours of hard work by Grand employees, and all the bulbs are underground.

A few hours of hard work by Grand employees, and all the bulbs are underground.

Maple and white birch trees

Maple and white birch trees.

A couple on horseback rides down Huron Road.

A couple on horseback rides down Huron Road.

Fallen leaves, and a few still on the trees, atop one of Cadotte's many hills.

Fallen leaves, and a few still on the trees, atop one of Cadotte's many hills.

A stack of discarded horseshoes by the blacksmith's shop.  This pile has been growing all summer, and more were added when the horses' shoes were taken off when they left the island for the winter.  The rubber will be stripped off these by a special machine off the island.  Then the metal will be melted down and reused.

A stack of discarded horseshoes by the blacksmith's shop. This pile has been growing all summer, and more were added when the horses' shoes were taken off when they left the island for the winter. The rubber will be stripped off these by a special machine off the island. Then the metal will be melted down and reused.

Private tour carriages are still running.  They wait at the base of fort hill for visitors to book their tours.

Private tour carriages are still running. They wait at the base of Fort Hill for visitors to book their tours.

The Pink Pony has put the finishing touches on its Halloween decorations.  The big costume party is Saturday night, a week before Halloween.

The Pink Pony has put the finishing touches on its Halloween decorations. The big costume party is Saturday night, a week before Halloween.

The Seabiscuit Cafe is having its big Halloween party on Saturday also.

The Seabiscuit Cafe is having its big Halloween party on Saturday also.

The Jockey Club across from the Grand
The Jockey Club across from the Grand
I've talked about going to pick up the mail all summer.  Here I am actually doing it - for one of the last times.

I've talked about going to pick up the mail all summer. Here I am actually doing it - for one of the last times.

Our hill on Cadotte Avenue this afternoon.

Our hill on Cadotte Avenue this afternoon.

Tomorrow I will go to Cheboygan to take Bear to be groomed – for the last time of the season.  On Thursday Mike will cut my hair – for the last time this season.  The bookstore closes tomorrow.  The Grand closes on Monday, and on Tuesday over 400 Grand employees will leave the island.  Slowly, the season is ending – and so is our time here.  Almost time to go home – but not quite yet.

21 thoughts on “An Autumn Mosaic 10/21/09

  1. Thanks for your Blog. I found it while doing a search on hotels for the island. I have enjoyed it daily since. My husband and I will be up this weekend to enjoy the crisp air. This is our second year staying on the island for our birthdays/anniversary (10/20, 10/23, 10/25). There is nothing like the island at night when most of the visitors leave. Last year we stayed at the bluffs, we had a heck of a time getting a taxi. This year we’re staying right on main street. Enjoy your last few days.

  2. Beautifully put Brenda. Yes Fall is an amazing season that many miss.It will be hard to leave but right about now I know that Georgia is feeling like HOME. Funny thing next spring you will be welled up with the same “I’m going HOME” feelings all over again. Only a true double nester can understand that feeling my friend.Can we meet today for a coffee at the boat dock?you have my number so if so call and I’ll run over.

  3. Again, such beautiful pictures. I will miss getting my morning Mackinac fix. Enjoy your last few days on the island Bree. This weekend could get a little wild. Watch our for the ghouls and goblins!

  4. I’ll certainly miss my M.I. fix too. Hope I don’t get the DT’s before you start the GA Blog! I can always go back and refresh my memory! Certainly enjoyed your fall pictures, as that is when I saw the island last!

    Have a safe and enjoyable trip back.

    God Bless you and family.

    Judy/Ann Arbor

  5. “The days dwindle down to a precious few…..”

    The pictures are beautiful and bittersweet. Goodbyes are never easy. I will miss the magic even as I revel in the beauty that is Lake Blackshear. I’ll still get my puppy pics and I’ll learn to love a whole new group of virtual friends.

  6. Great pictures, can’t believe you only have a few days left now.

    Thanks for telling me the college was Mission Point Resort! Have a great day!

  7. Hey there,
    Love the blog but Brenda the Bookstore is open until the 27th which is our closing day and the Grand’s. We are both open until Tuesday so please all come in and shop for bargains.
    Thanks,
    Tamara

    • Sorry Tamara. Jill said it was her last day, and I guess that meant for everyone. I knew better. I will make a correction on that in tomorrow’s blog AND for the Grand.

  8. Don’t cry when you leave the island to come home. Just think, you’ll be returning to your beatiful lake home in Georgia, and the time is just ride for afternoon boat rides. You’ll be able to photograph the leaves turning colors up and down the river. We’re all looking forward to y’all coming home. You’ve been missed!

  9. LOL… wondered WHY you thought the Bookstore closed “tomorrow”… It’s just my LAST DAY to WORK…store will be open until Monday, Oct 26.

  10. Loved the pictures today. The picture of the pile of horse shoes was really interesting. I always wondered what they did with them. Spring can’t be all that far away if the tulips are planted at the Grand. Enjoy the time you have left on the island.

  11. I sure wish I knew of this blog before. We visit Mackinac Island every summer. This summer our carriage driver (Mr. Grham or better known as “the Rev.”) Told us that this summer has been hard on the island due to two terrible days. One – he said – was- one of the men in the barn was kicked and killed by a horse. The other – was when one of the girls was tacking up a horse and he turned around and bit her ear OFF and swollowed it! Have you heard of these two events?

    • I only know of one incident where someone was seriously hurt by a horse this summer. The young man who was kicked is Nate, and he is definitely not dead. He was in the hospital for a couple of day, and then went back to work. In fact, if you go to my blog entitled “Goodbye to the Big Guys” on Oct. 8, there are two pictures of Nate toward the end of the blog. He is standing with the “big” carriage tour horses, wearing a red cap.

      It seems that I heard something about a horse biting someone’s ear at the very beginning of the season, but I never heard anything about it being bitten off OR swallowed.

      I’m certainly not saying that I know everything that happens on the island, but I think I would have heard if someone had been killed.

Leave a Reply

