Jack Frost and Friend Jill 10/2/09

IMG_8027There was frost on the pumpkin this morning.  Well, actually there wasn’t a pumpkin near our condo to judge by, but the lawn in front of us was covered with white crystals.  It was exactly 32 degrees when we got up, with promises of highs only in the 50’s.  It is a gorgeous day on the island.  Blue skies, plenty of sunshine, no clouds, no wind.  A perfect fall day.

I’ve gotten so used to the hush of the island that I don’t even think about it usually – until something interrupts it.  Wednesday and today there have been workers  replacing doors in two of the condos in our building.  I wasn’t here yesterday for the noise, but this morning the banging and drilling started early.  It was quite an intrusion into our quiet little universe, and I’ll be glad when the hammering stops, and the only sounds again are clip-clips and the calls of seagulls, crows, and geese.

All the noise started me thinking about the adjustment back to life in the “real world” that is coming soon.  Even yesterday, driving in the little town of Cheboygan, I found myself having to think about driving rules that I’ve used since I was 15.  But I know the instincts will all return quickly, just as the skill of riding a bike returned, even after almost 40 years between bike rides. 

Jill called about 2:30 this afternoon and wanted me to come downtown to play.  Thursday is her day off from the bookstore, and she had taken care of all her errands.  I had finished everything I had planned to do today at the condo, so I said “Sure, I’m on the way!” 

I packed up all the photographs I’ve been passing out, in case I saw anyone on the streets, put on two layers, threw the earmuffs in my bag, and biked down the hill. 

Jill and I met at the Little Stone Church.  We rode on into town and stopped at Wolfgang’s Gallery to give Helen a picture Jill had taken of her and Millie.  Millie is a Portuguese Water Dog who has a restaurant named after her on the island – Millie’s on Main.  The photograph shows them in the Island Bookstore – with Millie getting a treat, of course.

DSC03027

Then we rode by Weber’s Florist to deliver a picture to Patti.  The door was closed, with the “On a Delivery” sign taped to the front.  I was going to slip the envelope under the door, but I looked through the window into the shop and saw Patti preparing to go out the backdoor.  I caught her before she could get on her bike and delivered the photo.  It shows Patti waving to friends as she stands beside a full stand of lilac plants.  I took it this spring soon after we arrived.  Patti said today that she had sold three stands of those lilac bushes over the summer.

IMG_1275

IMG_8044a

We went to see Ted in the Visitor’s Center and found him practicing his expertise at the cup and ball game.  He told us they were testing the aerators in the harbor, so we walked out to the marina to check it out.  In the photo below, you will see air bubbles coming up next to several posts. In the winter, when the Straits of Mackinac are freezing over, the aerators run continuously to keep ice from forming around the dock pilings.  The ice would be so heavy that the marina could literally be destroyed if it was allowed to push against the pilings.  Wow!  Talk about stuff we don’t have to worry about in south Georgia!

IMG_8053

 

IMG_8035

Jill and I decided a coffee was in order – we were cold!  J.L. Beanery was a short walk down the marina, and Brett was 10 minutes away from closing.  The view out of the Beanery windows is pretty special, even when the harbor is almost empty of boats.

IMG_8068

 

IMG_8073

As we headed back to the Visitor’s Center to pick up our bikes, we happened to glance up to the  top of the Bay View Bed & Breakfast.  There stood a minister, a bride, a groom, and several attendants.  You just never know where you will spot a wedding on Mackinac Island!

IMG_8081

We were going to the library when I saw Ben coming down the street with two of the Grand hackneys pulling a carriage.  He and a Grand stable worker take the hackneys out each afternoon to exercise them.  I hailed him down in the street to give him some photos I’ve taken of him and the Grand horses over the summer.

IMG_8088

The island library is something I’ve wanted to show you all summer, and until this afternoon I’ve just never taken the time to do it.  The library was dedicated in 1992 and sits right on the Lake Huron shore.  It stays open year-round, and there is a wood-burning fireplace inside.  To me, the walls look they were painted the exact color of Lake Huron, which you can see out the window.  Today, there were several people sitting around the fireplace reading books and newspapers, while others worked on computers or searched the racks for a special book.  There are used books for sale, and you can rent movies. 

IMG_8104

 

IMG_8103

As if all that isn’t enough to make you want to come check out a book, there is even a backporch right on the beach, with rocking chairs.  And if the rocking chairs are all in use, just make yourself comfortable down at the shoreline.

IMG_8097

 

IMG_8100

Friday night about 10 of “us girls” are going out to dinner and then to see Julie, Julia, which has finally arrived at Mission Point Resort.  Then Saturday night is date night. 

The next new post will be Monday morning.

NOTE:  Please remember me in your prayers this weekend.  I lost my mom two years ago on Oct. 3.  She died from a stroke she suffered a week earlier, and went to be with our Lord on her 86th birthday.  I miss her and think about her every day.  My sadness is made easier because I know she and my daddy are together now in Heaven.  All the years of missing him are behind her, and now they both know only joy.  Knowing that, and knowing that one day I will see them both again will make Saturday easier.  For those of you who will lift me up this weekend, I thank you.

18 thoughts on “Jack Frost and Friend Jill 10/2/09

  1. Your in my prayers Brenda. I will have a white candle burning all weekend for you.
    Have a great time with your GF’s if anyone deserves it, it’s you!

  2. Brenda, you always make an ordinary day SPECIAL and it’s so much MORE FUN when you’re with a good friend.
    I will remember you & your mother Saturday…nothing replaces that loss in your heart. xxoo

  3. Sending a prayer for you too Brenda, that God will wrap His angels wings around you on Saturday especially tight, to ease you through ‘that’ day.

    I’m so glad you are seeing the ‘Julie, Julia’, you WILL ENJOY IT VERY MUCH! I saw it couple weeks ago & it is soooo funny. And I thought of YOU & your great Mac. blog so often during the movie, as Julie (in the movie) begins her new blogging endeavor, documenting her ‘cooking with Julia’. And like you, she wonders if anybody is even reading her blogs, then finds that all kinds of folks are very faithful readers & supporters of all her efforts- just as you have found! I’m not telling anymore of the story, don’t want to give anymore of it away! Will be waiting to hear how you like the movie—- enjoy your gals nite out.
    your faithful reader,
    Jane

    • Thank you Jane.

      We have been waiting over a month to see that movie – I’ve heard nothing but good things about it.

      Our weather here today is horrible – high winds, rain, and cold. It’s going to be an interesting trip into town and back tonight, but we refuse to cancel.

      Brenda

  4. Thoughts and prayers will be with you on Saturday.
    As someone new to this site I want to thank you for sharing your life and time on Mackinac Island.
    I feel in love with the island in 1963 and have returned nearly every year since. For our 25th anniversary my husband rented a place for us for a week on the island. It was so much fun to get to be there that long. All summer would be even greater.
    Enjoy the movie.

    • Thank you so much for writing, Charlotte. I’m glad you found this little blog and hope you can continue to spend more and more time on the island. Thank you for the prayers.

      Brenda (Bree)

  5. Ou thoughts and prayers will certainly be with you tomorrow, I remember so well when your mother died, and how I couldn`t be there for you becouse I was sick as a dog with ecoli and taking the meds that were making me even sicker. May God wrap his arms around you and give you the warm and loving strength to see you through this time of sadness and remembering. Know that we love you,
    Marianne & Cecil

  6. Just wanted to let you know how much I am enjoying your blog. I grew up in Mi but have lived in FL for 13 yrs. I get SO home sick in the fall. I am so grateful for the beautiful photos you take and the wonderful stories you tell!
    Now, I have to share a story with you, I lost a dear friend, she was like a Mom to me, to cancer and I miss her so badly. When I told my friend’s daughter how bad I missed her she said “don’t be sad for Mom she wouldn’t want you to be. Choose happy!” So now I choose happy! (At least I try) PLT!
    Thank you again! You are greatly appreciated!

  7. Awesome blog as usual. I feel like I am right there with you on the island.

    I am sorry for the loss of your mother, and I will be praying for you this weekend.

    Have fun at the movies!

  8. I will say a prayer for you right now.

    I lost my mother on 09/21/09; her internment was 09/25/09.

    Thank goodness for all the wonderful people in my life who keep me in their daily prayers. Losing a mother is the most difficult thing I’ve ever experienced. There is nothing like the love between a mother and a daughter. May you remember a special memory and smile tomorrow. It is reassuring to know that our mothers are at peace in heaven with loved ones.

    Thinking of you.

    -MKP
    in IL

  9. brenda, my heart is with you today, i lost my mom 38 years ago but you know it is just like yesterday. one thing i do know is that your mother would be (is) so proud of you. not just your wonderful blog. you are a special, kind and loving person, you are a people person and make us all feel so special, you are a gift. your mom and dad did a great job.

    your friend, bonnie lou

  10. Brenda,
    I will remember you in my prayers. You were lucky to have enjoyed her for so many years. I lost my mother when I was 32. I never miss a day reading your blog. It’s always a bright spot in my day.

Leave a Reply

