The Three R’s 9/9/09

We weren’t on the island last year in September, having returned home for three weeks so Ted could fulfill a commitment he had in Georgia that month.  We returned in October, but being away from Mackinac the day after Labor Day in 2008 meant we had missed the parade we saw going down the hill this morning.  Looking out the kitchen window as I sipped my second cup of coffee, a little of army of children – helmets on their heads, new backpacks on their backs – sailed down Cadotte Avenue.  It was the first day of school on the island. 

Some rode or walked with older brothers or sisters, some walked with their moms or dads (or both), some walked or rode by themselves.  No carpools here.  It’s bicycles and walking until enough snow falls that the snowmobiles can come out.  Snowmobiles are allowed on the island, and with required training and certification, they can be driven at the age of 12. 

The island school is K-12, and there are usually just under 100 students enrolled each year.  Class size is about six per grade.  The school was completed in the late 60’s and renovated extensively in 1992 and again in 2000.  The latest renovation doubled the school’s size.

With a population as small and tightly knit as the winter community of Mackinac Island, I wasn’t surprised to learn that on the first day of school there was a picnic – and everyone on the island was invited.  The students had classes only a half day.  Then they were dismissed to eat lunch outside with their parents and anyone else who wanted to show up for hamburgers, hotdogs and all the trimmings.  Did I go?  You bet I did!

On the ferry going to St. Ignace on Labor Day to walk the bridge, I had met Liz, a science teacher at the school.  We chatted the whole trip over, and I asked if it would be ok for me to come to the picnic.  She said, “Sure, everyone is invited!” 

When I arrived, the crowd was already going through the food line and getting Koolade and lemonade from two giant thermos jugs set out on lunchroom tables from the cafeteria.  The older kids had claimed their own hill, and the younger children were playing a variety of games in the schoolyard.  Bikes were everywhere!

IMG_6355

 

IMG_6359

 

IMG_6386

The entire community turned out for the picnic – not just parents or grandparents.  Policemen, ministers, firemen, friends, uncles, aunts, cousins – even people like me who happened to get invited on a ferry.  Jill was there and introduced me to a whole new group of nice ladies.

IMG_6366a

 

DSC03151

Inside the school, which was sparkling clean thanks to custodian Mike, there were classrooms where teachers were working hard to get ready for the first full day of instruction, a beautiful gym, and a media center with a fireplace!

IMG_6378

 

IMG_6382a

I ran into Liz, the teacher from the ferry, in the hall.  We talked a moment, then Jill took me into the school office where Barb, the school secretary, was busy doing 12 things at once – including eating lunch!

IMG_6388a

 

IMG_6389a

Outside I found another one of those art turtles – this one decorated with children’s faces. Mike was busy folding up the tables that had been used for the picnic and preparing to take them back inside.

IMG_6396a

 

IMG_6401a

As I walked around the school grounds, I had to wonder how on earth these teachers and children concentrate on learning when they are surrounded by so much beauty.  The views from the front steps of the school and from the playground are enough to take even the most scholarly mind off into a wonderland of imagination. 

IMG_6385a

 

IMG_6405

On Wednesday, when the first bell rings, the playground will empty, and the children of Mackinac will gather in the classroom.   They will settle down and read, and write, and do math, and map out the world away from this island.  And when the final bell of the day rings, they will get on their bikes, and most will ride back up the hill.  Because to these children, who for the most part have lived here all their lives, this is not a resort area or a vacation spot.  To these children, Mackinac Island is simply home.  

IMG_6400a

14 thoughts on “The Three R’s 9/9/09

  1. Dear Bree I enjoyed your pictures of the walk on the bridge and the opening of that great school. Wonder if the kids appreciate what they have. I suppose they will in their later years. You and Ted are sissies if you don’t stay through the winter. Cathie and I could and buy snowmobiles. Cathie could open a gas station to support us and Ted and I could ride the snowmobiles up and down the steps. Besides, think of the pictures of Maddie and Bayer in snow goggles and earflap hats.

    • I’m in! Ya’ll buy the snowmobile and move up here and stay for the winter, and I will stay with you! It’s not ME who is the sissy! Of course, the first time Cathie wants to go looking for moss under the snow, she’s on her own!

  2. My eyes get misty when I see that beautiful school and all those students waiting to learn. I yearn for the companionship of teachers eager to learn all they can and pass it on to future generations. They truly do touch the future. The surroundings are magnificent but work is to be done and it is normal for them to live in such beauty. Forget the gas station–I want to be in that building.

    Cathie

    • They are looking for a superintendent right now. I tried to get Ted to apply, but no luck. Just think, with him as the superintendent/principal (they are one and the same) and you teaching – what a twosome! Frog and I would have supper waiting every night when ya’ll got home – we’d even help you grade papers!

      • You know, when I read about Dr. Schrock leaving, I thought of Ted!! It’s not an easy job, though. You have to be both Superintendent and Principal. And a lot of stuff comes down. It is a wonderful school though. Do they still have the vine in the middle school science room? I’ll send you a photo – it’s amazing!!

      • Great minds must be on the same wave length! I have been hinting about that to Ted also, but I just don’t think he would consider being here through the winter. I would love it. I’m going to do some volunteer work at the school in the time we have left here. That will be so much fun, and Barb says they will take all they can get.

  3. Oh Bree, this was my favorite post to date. I would love to teach in a school like that. It’s a beautiful school. Everyone looks as happy as a turtle! I’m counting down the days till I return to the island. Only 8 to go.

    Dema

  4. This looks like such a great school! Small schools are wonderful…although it is challenging right now to keep them still operational. We have a little K-6 school in this community and we’re down to five kids. It has fluctuated between 5 and 40 during the past twenty years. (We would have had 9 this year, but a family of four moved out at the last minute.) Yet it’s more inexpensive for our taxpayers to keep the school open than to consolidate, believe it or not. And the kids get such a great education. (Our two went there!)

  5. Bree, how do the sports competitions work for the kids on the island – do they play football and do other kids come and play on the island?
    How about track, cross country, etc.
    I am not a sports person at all, the picture of that nice gym made me think of it.

Leave a Reply

