Hot Weather and Horses 8/17/09

OK – it’s hot!  I have been so spoiled with this cool summer, and this is our fifth day in the 80’s!  I know friends and family in south Georgia are right now saying, “Eighty’s!  Has she lost her mind! We’d  kill for some 80 degree weather about now!”   I’m sorry!  Now remember, before you think too ill of me, we have no air conditioning!  Every window in the condo is open – both floors.  There is a fan in the door of the bedroom, a fan on the desk in the bedroom, a fan on the floor in the den, a fan on a stand (a stand fan) in the den, and the ceiling fan over the den.  News flash! This is why air conditioning was invented.  Fans DO NOT GET A HOUSE COOL!  I admit they make the condo liveable.  In fact, if you sit very quietly and do not move a muscle or exert yourself in any way, you are pretty comfortable.  But, if you try to clean house, cook, even blink – you are hot!

But today the heat wave is supposed to end.  Tomorrow the forecast high is 74.  Tuesday – 72.  Wednesday – 68.  Can you say MICHIGAN SUMMER!  Love it!  I can put up with anything for five days, and I could put up with it a lot longer than that – but Ted would probably have to go to Walmart for a portable air conditoner if we started to get much past 85 for longer than two weeks.  All right – I am spoiled. 

We went to church this morning, and I wore a different dress for a change.  I only brought three dresses up here, and it’s been so cool I’ve been wearing the same one every time we go, because it has a jacket.  This morning I wore one with little sleeves and no jacket.  The bad part was I also had to change shoes.  From sensible navy pumps to strappy black sandals.  Now I know it is very passe’ to wear hose in the summer.  Besides that, the only hose I had were NOT the sandalfoot variety.  So I said ok – my legs are  tan – I can go without hose.  So I put on this dress, strappy sandals, cute necklace and earrings.  Ted is all handsome in his sports coat and tie and khakis.  Off we go down the hill. 

Can you imagine the looks we got from all the tourists in the tour carriages as they came up the hill?  There they were, packed into a carriage, wearing shorts and t-shirts and halter tops and as little as they could possibly get away with to stay cool, and they are passing these two crazy people dressed to the hilt like they are going to a party.  The mere fact that I am walking down the hill wearing heels is enough to get us stared at – but dodging horse poop in heels guaranteed that I went home in a few tourists’ digital cameras.

After church, we hiked back UP the hill, had a quick lunch and hotfooted it over to the horse show at Turtle Park.  It began this morning, so it was more than half over, but we still got to see some great horses and riders. 

I am not even going to TRY to tell you what kind of horses or their names or what the riders’ names are (unless I’m absolutely certain), but here are some pics from the horse show for you to enjoy.

Claire on Puzzle.

Claire on Puzzle.

 

Trish and Candi and their beautiful horses.

Trish and Candi and their beautiful horses.

 

IMG_4736

 

IMG_4748

Puzzle takes a jump.

 

Trish's thoroughbred taking a jump.

Trish's thoroughbred taking a jump.

 

Trish again.

Trish again.

 

IMG_4777

 

IMG_4779

 

Michelle on her beautiful Friesian.

Michelle on her beautiful Friesian.

 

IMG_4788

 

IMG_4795

 

Ted helps move obstacles for the next event.

Ted helps move obstacles for the next event.

 

This log probably weighs twice as much as Jill does!

This log probably weighs twice as much as Jill does!

 

Michelle on her Friesian.

Michelle on her Friesian.

 

Michelle again.

Michelle again.

 

Michelle, Candi, and Trish - three accomplished horsewomen.

Michelle, Candi, and Trish - three accomplished horsewomen.

After the horse show, Ted and I walked home and spent the rest of the afternoon sitting quietly on the couch, not moving a muscle, not exerting ourselves in any way.  The clouds, bringing in the front promising cooler weather, are gathering as I type.  Judy and I are planning on a movie tonight at Mission Point, and she just called to say she has ordered a taxi in case the weather turns bad.  

I talked with Blake about 30 minutes before he boarded this afternoon.  He sounded good.  Thank you so much for your prayers –  for Blake and for me.  God bless.

3 thoughts on “Hot Weather and Horses 8/17/09

  1. Oh my, Claire Dunnigan has turned into a lovely young woman! (I remember her helping Trish with housekeeping duties several years back – it reminded me of summers helping out at Mission Point!)

    Thank you for these beautiful horse photos. I don’t want to disparage the job they do at the Town Crier, but I get it two weeks after the event, and these I saw …TODAY!! Gorgeous!

    Tell Trish ‘hi’ from her ‘big sister’ next time you see her.

Leave a Reply

