Linda Lou – Who Are You? 8/10/09

CRACK!  BANG!  Ted and I woke up early Sunday morning to the worse storm we have ever seen or heard.  Now we live in south Georgia, and thunderstorms are the norm down there.  It gets HOT, and we have storms all the time in the summer.  But this one was a whole different ballgame.  I have never seen lightning that bright, or heard thunder that loud.  I thought that maybe it was because we were sitting right on top of this hill.  A lady from Los Angeles staying at the Grand said it was the worse one she had ever seen or heard also.  Later in the day, when we talked about it with several other people, they said, “Oh, that’s just your first Michigan thunderstorm.  They’re all like that.”  All righty then – I have now been warned!

By 8 a.m., the rain had ended, the air had warmed, and the fog had rolled in.

IMG_4580

The plan for the day was to work on the GREAT YACHT MYSTERY.  Ever since the Linda Lou pulled into the Arnold Dock, its occupants have been the source of great speculation.  We have heard everything from Mel Gibson to Kid Rock.  Both of those have currently been ruled out.  I even heard today that it was Queen Elizabeth.  She was supposed to be touring the Straits this summer, and so far has not shown up.  I’m pretty sure it’s not the Queen. 

So when the weather finally cleared after lunch, we went downtown to see what we could find out from the “locals” and to take some up close pictures of the yacht.  We went in The Island Bookstore to say hi to Jill, and she joined us on our fact-finding mission.  We questioned people on the street, hotel staff, and store workers.  One worker, who had met a member of the yacht’s crew Saturday night, was told by him that it was being chartered by VIPs of a huge cosmetic company.  We heard variations of that story several times this afternoon – specifically Loreal or Clinique.  There are at least 11 crew members on the “boat”, and supposedly they will leave the island on Wednesday.  Will we ever know who was really on board? 

Here are the closeup pictures with captions:

The magnificent Linda Lou.

The magnificent Linda Lou.

 

The stern of the Linda Lou - all four stories of it.

The stern of the Linda Lou - all four stories of it.

 

Another side view.

Another side view.

 

197 feet of pure luxury.

197 feet of pure luxury.

 

I have no idea what all this equipment on the top does, but I am sure it must be important.

I have no idea what all this equipment on the top does, but I am sure it must be important.

 

The glass-enclosed spiral staircase that runs between decks.

The glass-enclosed spiral staircase that runs between decks.

 

The Linda Lou dinghy - for those fast trips to shore.

The Linda Lou dinghy - for those fast trips to shore.

Automatic sliding doors that opened as we watched.  A crew member emerged with a huge flower bouquet which she sat on a table on the third deck.

Automatic sliding doors that opened as we watched. A crew member emerged with a huge flower bouquet which she sat on a table on the third deck.

 

These bumpers are just a little bit larger than the ones on our pontoon boat at home in Georgia.

These bumpers are just a little bit larger than the ones on our pontoon boat at home in Georgia.

 

Ted and I standing in front of the Linda Lou.  Gives you a good perspective of how really huge this yacht is.

Ted and I standing in front of the Linda Lou. Gives you a good perspective of how really huge this yacht is.

 

So we left downtown no better informed really than we had been when we arrived.  We totally missed The Wheelmen of Michigan, and I feel really bad about that.  I was looking forward to watching them ride those antique bikes. 
I’m going to start back up my “Day in the Life Of” series and see who I can interview before the week is over.  
Hope you all had a great weekend.  Our friends, Dawn and Stevie, got safely back to Georgia late Saturday afternoon.  Thank you, Lord for safe travels. 
See you tomorrow!
View from the Deck
 
Here's a new way to get up the hill with luggage - rollerblading!

Here's a new way to get up the hill with luggage - rollerblading!

12 thoughts on “Linda Lou – Who Are You? 8/10/09

  1. Hey Bree!
    I googled the ‘Linda Lou’ and came up with the owners names – Doug and Linda Von Allmen. They have a couple other yachts similiar to the Linda Lou. They own a cosmetics conglomerate company of several different ‘Big Name’ cosmetics. There are also several sites on the internet that show interior photos of Linda Lou! The Von Allmen’s have a home in Florida and a home in St. Louis. Pretty impressive – they are self made success! Just thought I would share what I found out on the internet. AND…please keep sharing your life on the island with us – when I get up each morning – I grab my coffee and head to the computer to read your latest entry!!!!! It’s a great way to start each new day!
    Many thanks!

  2. Love that Linda Lou. I wonder if the residents sneak out at night and go to the Pink Pony.

    Looking forward to the next day-in-the-life but all your blogs are fun.

    xxoo

    Cathie

  3. I just noticed a large yacht going by an hour ago so I ran for the spotting scope and checked her out but, no just a very large yacht heading back to Chacigo with a US flag. I will keep an eye out for her on Wed. to see if see comes down Lake Michigan way. Thanks for the investigative reporting try though. We did get an up close and personal look at her ourselves on Thursday and Friday when we were on the Island with the kids and grandkids. Queen Eliaebeth “did” the Island in the 80’s with prince Charles It was really cool and of course she had her own royal yacht

  4. Awesome pictures of Linda Lou Bree. The picture with you and Ted in front of it sure put the yacht’s size into perspective for me. I was wondering just how big it was because looking at the Chippewa web cam, you really can’t tell. The web cam makes it appear smaller from the angle that you see it.
    As for the Queen, here’s the link to the article that I read about her passing through from the Petosky news. That was all I ever heard about it, so I don’t know if she did pass through during that time or not. It would have been the royal yacht Brittania, so that leaves Linda Lou out for sure on that one. 😉

    http://www.petoskeynews.com/articles/2009/06/24/columns/doc4a4255312d460817483109.txt

    • I remember the Queen’s coming through in ’59. We were all so excited, standing out on the lawn in front of what is now Mission Point. There was a huge conference that summer – 2000 people in residence most of the time, many of them British. The British ladies stood out on the lawn in front of the Theatre (now gone with the Conference Center in its place!) in a square. That was supposed to have some deep Gaelic meaning – I’ve forgotten what.

      I remember in my eleven-year-old mind feeling a bit miffed as we waved and waved at the Britannia, but saw not a single wave returned! Oh well.

      That really is a grand yacht there. And the Chippewa web-cam is extremely busy spying on it! ;-)) I imagine, from the links I have read, that it is actually the owners treating themselves to a special vacation. But I cannot imagine tying up at the Arnold Dock and spending five days aboard my yacht! They MUST be spending some time in that glorious place on shore, don’t you think?

      • Thank you Irene. I was wondering if the Queens passing was back in 59 as well when I read that article but I wasn’t sure since July 5th was a Sunday this year. I thought perhaps just the beginning of the article was about 59, but you cleared that up for me since you were there and saw it back in 59.
        I am sure the occupants of Linda Lou must be spending time on the island, but boy if they aren’t, they are really missing out.

  5. Oh yes, we have some spectacular thunderstorms here in Michigan. Never in 15 years of living in Northern California did we ever had a thunderstorm. I didn’t know how I missed them until we moved here and watched many of them sitting on our front porch. Wonnnnerful 🙂

  6. That storm woke us up in Naubinway, too!

    We glimpsed the yacht heading west as we drove US-2 toward the Mackinac Bridge and Detroit, so it was fun to come home, check your blog and find you’d written about it.

  7. I was googling Linda Lou and found your great blog. Beautiful pictures. We saw Linda Lou in both Harbor Springs and Charlevoix. The locals in Charlevoix thought Shania Twain was on board but I don’t know how credible that is. I would love to know for sure who the lucky people were. We were at the roped off gangplank and several deliveries came and both times the delivery person and the harbormaster instructed “give this to your mistress” .

    • Hi Michele, and welcome!

      Our best guess, and it’s a pretty reliable one, is that the owners of the yacht, who also own a major cosmetic company, flew into the airport here and boarded the yacht. It’s our understanding that the yacht will make several more stops in the Great Lakes area before heading back out to parts unknown. These folks can obviously blend into a crowd without being “spotted” as a celebrity would. I know how rumors can fly though. We heard everyone from Mel Gibson to Kid Rock to Queen Elizabeth was aboard. Pretty funny.

  8. I just saw the Linda Lou featured on a TV show “World’s Most Expensive Rides”. It is owned by Doug and Linda Von Allmen, impressive yacht!

Leave a Reply

