A Lazy Saturday 8/8/09

Sleeping until almost 8:30 is not something I often do.  I don’t even remember Ted getting up and leaving with Bear and Maddie – that’s how “out of it” I was.  When they came back in, and Bear landed solidly next to me in the bed and Maddie was whining on the floor to get up there – that’s when I woke up.  I got up and went searching for Ted, but he was nowhere to be found.  A few minutes later, I heard the backdoor open, and he came up the stairs.  While Dawn and Stevie had been here, Ted had forgotten about keeping an eye on all the flowers planted around the condo.  We seldom have five days without rain, so he usually doesn’t have to do that by hand (something that somehow seems to have fallen under his job description as president of the condo association).  Our visitors had enjoyed a rare, dry five days, and the flowers were beginning to droop.  So he watered everything early this morning.  Five minutes after he finished and came inside, it started to rain.

Ted worked today at the Welcome Center, leaving the condo at 9:30 with rain gear.  That left me alone with the dogs on a rainy morning.  Sheer bliss!  I poured my second cup of coffee, curled up on the couch with my book, and read while listening to the rain drops beat against the windows.  Bear crawled up on the couch, and Maddie tried her best to get in my lap.  Managing coffee, a book, and a dog was a little too much though, and she had to be content just curled up next to me, with Bear’s big, fluffy tail acting as her blanket.  We were snug!

About an hour later, reality called, and I got up to change sheets, wash a load of clothes, clean up breakfast dishes, and just generally tidy up the place.  That didn’t take long, and I began wondering what to blog about today.  The phone rang just then, and it was Molly, the Little Stone Church pastor’s wife.  She had talked to me once about writing on a wedding weekend at the church on my blog  She had to get special permission for me to attend the rehearsal and wedding, and this morning she had gotten the permission she needed.  This is going to be so exciting and so beautiful!  It will be a wedding in September (exact date to be announced later), and I will be able to attend and photograph to my heart’s content.  I can see this being at least a 2-day post.  Stay tuned for more updates!

With a rainy afternoon forecast, I think I am going to post some random shots from the last few weeks that haven’t worked their way into any blogs so far. I’ve captioned them for you.  Enjoy!

A really busy afternoon downtown.

A really busy afternoon downtown.

 

IMG_3201

Two precious Yorkies travel in style.

 

One of two new houses presently being constructed on the island.  Two sisters, whose last names are Orr, are building the house.  They have named it "Either Orr".

One of two new houses presently being constructed on the island. Two sisters, whose last names are Orr, are building the house. They have named it "Either Orr".

 

Jill and "friend".

Jill and "friend".

 

Somehow, the photograph of this beautiful horse turned out looking like a man in a horse suit!

Somehow, the photograph of this beautiful horse turned out looking like a man in a horse suit!

 

Our neighbor Duck, standing in a livery stable, folding up the flag he carried when he led the Antique Carriage Parade during the Festival of the Horse.

Our neighbor, Duck, standing in a livery stable, folding up the flag he carried when he led the Antique Carriage Parade during the Festival of the Horse.

 

The "Baby Grand", a cottage on the East Bluff created when the owners joined two existing cottages together.

The "Baby Grand", a cottage on the East Bluff created when the owner joined two existing cottages together

 

A gull sits atop a cross in Marquette Park.

A gull sits atop a cross in Marquette Park.

The Straits of Mackinac through a lookout window at Fort Mackinac.

The Straits of Mackinac through a gun port at Fort Mackinac.

 

Flower at Mission Point Resort.

Flowers at Mission Point Resort.

 

A beautiful West Bluff cottage.

A beautiful West Bluff cottage.

 

The Foundation House on the West Bluff.

The Foundation House on the West Bluff.

 

Bear and I in front of The Grand.

Bear and I in front of The Grand.

 

The Jewel Golf Course - taken from Fort Mackinac

The Jewel Golf Course - taken from Fort Mackinac

 

An old work boat parked at the Arnold Dock.

An old work boat parked at the Arnold Dock.

 

Summer flower at Mission Point Resort.

Summer flower at Mission Point Resort.

 

Fort Mackinac stands watch over a busy Market Street.

Fort Mackinac stands watch over a busy downtown morning.

 

Ted and I take a break during a ride around the island.

Ted and I take a break during a ride around the island.

I did not get downtown today to get pictures of the Wheelmen of Michigan, but will try and get down there tomorrow morning to catch them before they head out on an afternoon ferry.  To be honest, I did not leave the condo once today, except to take the dogs out to the front yard in the rain around noon.  That is unheard of for me.  I promise I will get moving again tomorrow!

IMG_4574

3 thoughts on “A Lazy Saturday 8/8/09

  1. Your post picture is absolutly the cutest picture i`ve seen of you and Ted. Love it. Stevie and Dawn came last night down and we sat on the back porch and they told us all about their trip and what a wonderful time they had, I think they would have gotten up this morning and headed back up there if they could have. We had the best time laughing at some of ya`ll shannagins and sight seeings. And Miss Suzie Q would dare not let them out of her sight. And Bree, the fudge is absolutly THE BEST i`ve ever put in my mouth. I TOO could have eaten the entire box had I not policed myself so strengently.
    Hearing about ya`ll week made us miss you even more. Love ya`ll. Marianne

  2. Charlie said that the timing of the flower watering must run in the family. That is how I make sure it rains.

    I love the pictures. Your header is a great picture of you and Ted.

    I’ve never been an envious person but I must admit to a greenish tinge when I read about all your exploits. BTW what book are you reading?

    Hugs to all,

    Cathie

  3. Love all the pictures, but my favorites are the straits taken thru the gun port and the golf course. The colors in the golf course are amazing. Great job! Sounds like you got a much needed day of rest.

Leave a Reply

