Sunday Shenanigans 7/13/09

Oh my gosh!  I didn’t think there could be a prettier day than yesterday, but I was wrong.  Sunday was perfect – the sky was blue, the sun was shining, the temperature hovered around 72, and there was a breeze all day.

I didn’t wake up until 8:30 because I didn’t finish writing yesterday’s blog until almost midnight (tearing yourself away from grandchildren in order to write is a hard thing to do).  But I am not complaining.  If the blog gets written at 3:00 in the morning, so be it.  Anyway, thank you Ted for letting me sleep.  When I awoke, he was in the den working on some condo business.  Matthew was still asleep, and Julie and Jordan had gone out for a little 6 mile run (Jordan rode her bike as her mom ran).  Julie ran down Grand Hill to town, followed the highway along the water to British Landing, then cut back up through the center of the island and back home.  I could not believe Jordan came up that hill on her bike – it’s not as steep as Grand Hill, but it’s a long and steady climb. 

When Matthew awoke, he was really upset that no one had gotten him up to go with his mom.  So he has been promised that tomorrow morning Julie will wake him up, and he can go with her instead of Jordan.  These kids are amazing (of course, they are – they’re our grandchildren)!

When Jordan and Julie got home, we did breakfast and then everyone but me took the dogs out for a walk.  When they got back, it was almost time for lunch, so we decided to bike to the Tea Room at the fort (everyone’s favorite lunch spot).  My readers may get tired of me continually posting pictures of the view from up there, but I don’t think I will ever tire of it.  While we were eating, I caught a glimpse of something at my foot and looked down to find a chipmunk sniffing around my backpack – probably smelling the dog treats I always carry in there.

fourtearoom

 

chipmunk

Beebe (that’s me) got to pick the trail to ride on today, and of course, I picked an easy one.  The kids were excited about any trail that did not have the name “Pontiac” in it.  I said no, this one was the North Bike Trail, and it would take us by Sugar Loaf.  Before we started out, the Jordan and Matthew wanted to look through some of the fort exhibits.  They always get a kick out of the schoolhouse -“Where are the laptops?”  And GDaddy always loves getting to teach Matthew something historical.

schoolhouse

 

matthewtedmuseum

As we were leaving, the interpreters at the fort had begun a re-enactment of a court martial as it would have taken place in the 1800’s.

IMG_2066

We started out on our bike trail ride  just behind the Scout barracks.  The North Bike Trail is paved and winds through shady woods until you reach Sugar Loaf.  GDaddy lured Julie, Jordan and Matthew up the stairway so they could look down at this huge limestone stack that towers 75 feet above the ground.  Knowing from experience how many steps were involved, I passed on that little adventure and climbed up to the base of Sugar Loaf so everyone could see me when they got to the top of the stairs.  There is a great view up there where they were, and GDaddy took a picture of Julie and the kids.

IMG_2073

 

IMG_2058

When they had walked back down, everyone wanted to climb up where I was.  While I was snapping pictures, and while Julie was trying to get a photograph of the kids to use as a Christmas card this year, Ted had been sneaking up the other side of Sugar Loaf to try and scare everyone.  I was far enough below them to watch all this and capture the moment when Julie turned around and saw Ted.

threeonrock

 

gdaddyscare

The four of them found the path around Sugar Loaf and circled it in less than 2 minutes.  Instead of continuing to the end of North Bike Trail, everyone wanted to go over to Arch Rock.  We rode there, and I can finally show you a picture of this limestone formation from the top side instead of the beach side.

IMG_2117

 

telescope

 

IMG_2071

 

usrchrock

 

IMG_2120

 

IMG_2132

We road our bikes to the Governor’s summer residence and parked them in our special woods’ parking space.  Jordan spent that whole part of the trip talking about coming to stay at least three weeks on the island with BeeBe and GDaddy as soon as she starts “traditional” school instead of “year-round” school.  She said, “Mom, you or Daddy can fly with me here, then fly back home.  Then you can fly or drive back here in three weeks and pick me up.”  You can imagine how happy that made Ted and I.  We were grinning from ear to ear. 

We walked downtown to look in the toy store for Matthew a birthday gift, look in the bookstore for a birthday card, look in The Big Store for Jordan a jacket, look at Doud’s for some hamburger meat, and look in JoAnne’s for some ice cream cones.  Those we quickly took care of while sitting out in the sun on some benches up from the Arnold Dock.

IMG_2075

We picked up our bikes and pedaled home.  When we pulled into our yard, Ted’s bike pedometer showed that we had ridden a little over ten miles since we had left for lunch at the fort.  Add six more to that for Jordan, to cover her bike ride while Julie ran.  You can see why we sleep so good at night here!  Ted took a nap while the rest of us took Maddie and Bear out for a long walk.  Everyone wanted to go see the horses again, and I was hoping that McGyver would be out where we could see him.  Just in case, I put a couple of carrots in my pocket.  We were in luck.  McGyver was home, and he really appreciated the treats we had brought him.

IMG_2151

Ted made hamburgers and hot dogs for supper, and we ate those up in a flash.  We had put in a full, very physical day.  I came in here to my desk to start on my blog, and Ted went upstairs to play “Go Fish” with Matthew and Jordan.  Julie, bless her heart, is settling in to read.  The children will be in bed by 9:00 – a long time before dark – because tomorrow will be another full day.  We are all (dogs included) going off island to Mackinaw City to spend the day at the Mill Creek Discovery Park.  The brochure says we will find all kinds of activities to keep two active children entertained, including a treetop discovery tower, a climbing wall, and something called the Eagle’s Flight Zip Line.  Oh my goodness, I don’t think BeeBe is going to like the looks of that one!

IMG_2066

NOTE:  A special thanks to Danny Carter of The Albany Herald in Albany, Georgia for telling the story of Bree’s Mackinac Island Blog in the Sunday, July 12, edition of the Herald.  I have no idea how long it will remain posted, but you might be able to read it by going to http://www.albanyherald.com and typing “Brenda Horton” into the Search Menu.

8 thoughts on “Sunday Shenanigans 7/13/09

  1. looks and sound like you are having a great time with the kids. we had our new 2 1/2mo old grand son this weekend….so sweet. Love Ya see you soon

  2. Hi Brenda, Ted, Julie, Jordan and Matthew;

    OMG- those kids have grown soooo much. I opened the paper Sunday morning and started tearing up when I saw your pic and article… Must I say more? I MISS YOU!

    • We are having so much fun with them. Blake flies in tomorrow. How happy can I get!!

      Don’t even know which picture they ran with story. I sent them two. I thought he did a good job with it.

      Love you , love you!

      Brenda

  3. What a wonderful way to spend a Sunday! And I’ll BET you all sleep well!

    When I was young we used to climb up to the cave in the front of Sugar Loaf. It actually goes all the way through, but not wide enough for a child to crawl though (although that didn’t stop us from trying!!) I think they rather discourage that sort of exploration nowadays!

    • Oh my gosh! I am so glad Matthew didn’t know about that cave opening. He would have definitely been trying to get through!

  4. I am certainly enjoying your postings and pics. I’m a friend of your “Condo Judy”. We went thru school together. Was up there visiting her in 10/07 in the fall. What a beautiful time to see the island! Had been there once before for 2 days.

    Glad you are having a wonderful time with your family…………..keep up the good work. I look forward to reading your blog everyday.

    “Nana Judy” Ann Arbor, MI

Leave a Reply

