Posted by: bree1972 | September 25, 2013

Fall? Who Said? 9/25/2013

After working Monday morning at the Stuart House, I took some time to walk through downtown with my camera.  Everywhere I turned were gardens, flower beds, flower pots and hanging baskets - all beautiful and happily blooming away.  You’d never know we’ve been in the 50′s for highs this week and frost warnings have been issued the last two nights. 

So . . . Fall might be here on the calendar – but Mackinac Island’s summer flowers are still blooming their little hearts out!

Our post office always looks good, but this year the entrance is surrounded by tall, beautiful flowers that are really showing off. Makes going after the mail a real treat!

Our post office always looks good, but this year the tall, beautiful flowers surrounding the entrance are really showing off. Makes going after the mail a real treat!

One of many hanging baskets at The Cottage Inn . . .

One of the many hanging baskets at The Cottage Inn . . .

. . . and a little frog named Bob who just can't stay away from his cell phone.

. . . and a little frog named Bob who just can’t stay away from his cell phone.

These beauties were outside Weber's, across

These beauties were outside Weber’s on Market Street.

Butterflies are still fluttering around also - like this one sipping at some flowers in front of a summer cottage on Huron Street.

Butterflies are still fluttering – like this one sipping at some flowers in front of a closed-for-the-winter cottage on Huron Street.

There are no words for the floral wonders at the Island House this year.

There are no words for the floral wonders at the Island House this year.

Every garden is a masterpiece of color, variety . . .

Every garden is a masterpiece of color, variety . . .

. . . and

. . . and uniqueness.

The side of Bay View is

Bay View of Mackinac is a riot of flowering bushes.

Doud's Market.  I remember these window boxes in the spring when they first were planted.  They have thrived all summer, and right now they are peaking!

Doud’s Market. I remember these window boxes in the spring when they first were planted. They have thrived all summer, and right now they are peaking.

Hanging basket outside Mary's Bistro.

Hanging basket outside Mary’s Bistro.

One perfect blossom - along the board walk.

One perfect blossom – along the board walk.

Cadotte from the Grand Hotel.

Cadotte Avenue from the Grand Hotel.

MORE SCENES FROM THE MONDAY AFTERNOON STROLL

GGGG

Looking across Marquette Park toward Fort Mackinac.  Not much Fall color yet – but it’s coming!

J.L. Beanery

J.L. Beanery Coffee House is a great place for breakfast – and awesome lunch sandwiches.

ddd

Quiet street – from the Fort to the Island House.

The Mackinac Island Marine is another quiet place these days.

The Mackinac Island Marina is another quiet place these days.

The Island House

The Island House – tucked between Michigan blue skies and shamrock green lawns.

dd

A nice afternoon to visit across the white picket fence in front of the Windermere Hotel.

A shady curve of sidewalk leading to the library . . .

A shady curve of sidewalk leading to the library . . .

. . . where I ducked through the side yard to check out

. . . where I ducked through the side yard to check if the chairs were still out on the back deck.

Quite possibly the most beautiful boardwalk in the world.

Walking along the boardwalk these days is a treat to all the senses . . .

. . . especially the visual.

. . . especially the visual.  A Shepler ferry . . .

. . . and Arnold's freight boat.

. . . and the Arnold freight boat glide across sparkling blue water.

Chambers Corner

Chambers Corner and a glimpse up Market Street.

Little Stone Church

Little Stone Church through the changing leaves of the new trees that line Cadotte.  I wonder how many more years I’ll call them the “new” trees?

A touch of color on a Jewel Golf Course tree . . .

A touch of color on a Jewel Golf Course tree . . .

. . . and apples near the road that every horse on Mackinac are trying to swipe with every pass along the road.

. . . and apples near the road that every horse on Mackinac tries to swipe as they walk by.

d

A wagon and a carriage stand side by side in the sunshine at Barn View.

NEWSY STUFF

Picking up the mail at the post office.

Picking up the outgoing mail at the post office.  The dray delivers it to the ferry, and the next morning the whole process starts again – in reverse.  (Photo:  Jill Sawatzki)

It's definitely Fall inside Doud's Market! (Photo:  Little Luxuries of Mackinac Island)

It’s definitely Fall inside Doud’s Market! (Photo: Little Luxuries of Mackinac Island)

Remember those empty blue barrels from the other day?  These are packed full and on their first leg of their journey to Jamaica.

Remember those empty blue barrels from the other day? These are packed full and on the first leg of their journey to Jamaica – along with what looks like some carpet.  (Photo: Jill Sawatzki)

Getting my coffee fix at Lucky Bean before opening the Stuart House on Monday morning.

Getting my coffee fix at Lucky Bean, before opening the Stuart House on Monday morning.  (Photo: Jill Sawatzki)

Meet the Green's - Kem and Ed from Des Moines, Iowa.  Kem discovered Bree's Blog last summer after visiting Mackinac, and if I've ever met anyone who mirrors how I felt with my first trip here, it is Kem.  Ed feels the same way, and they have a plan to be living (maybe full-time) on the Island in five years.  They're staying at the Chippewa and asked us to have dinner last night so they could ask questions about island life.  Such a nice couple.  I fell immediately in love with Kem's enthusiasm and positive attitude.  If anyone can make that plan come true, these two can!

Meet the Greens – Kem and Ed from Des Moines, Iowa. Kem discovered Bree’s Blog last summer after visiting Mackinac, and if I’ve ever met anyone who mirrors how I felt after my first trip here, it is Kem. Ed feels the same way, and they have a plan to be living (maybe full-time) on the Island in five years. They came over to the Stuart House on Monday and asked us to have dinner with them at the Chippewa Hotel (where they’re staying) last night so they could ask questions about island life. Such a nice couple! I fell immediately in love with Kem’s enthusiasm and positive attitude. If anyone can make that plan come true, these two can!

When the Greens came by the Stuart House Frankie and Hershey were visiting for a few minutes so everyone introduced themselves.  This morning was very foggy so Kem went out shopping and stopped in to see Frankie at Benjamin's.  She asked where Hershey was, and Frankie said "Upstairs in the apartment."  So Kem said, "Why don't we take her for a walk?"  Do you see now why I'm crazy about these two.  Kem got Hershey, called Ed at the Chippewa and they all went for a walk in the fog!

When the Greens came by the Stuart House Frankie and Hershey were visiting for a few minutes, so everyone introduced themselves. This morning was very foggy so Kem went out shopping and stopped in to see Frankie at Benjamin’s. She asked where Hershey was, and Frankie said “Upstairs in the apartment.” So Kem said, “Why don’t we take her for a walk?” Do you see why I’m crazy about these two. Kem collected Hershey, called Ed at the Chippewa, and they all went for a walk in the fog!

And speaking of fog.  The morning started off bright and beautiful, but Jim Ryerse captured the fog bank as it rolled in.  So eerie-looking!

And speaking of fog. The morning started off bright and beautiful, but Jim Ryerse captured the fog bank as it rolled in. So eerie-looking!

It looks like I'm not going to get out to Silver Birches after all this week, but the Town Crier interview worked out.  Stephanie Fortino, the reporter who wrote the wonderful story about Lowell & Faye's trip to the Island rode up to the condo this afternoon, and we all chatted for over two hours.  The story should run in the October Town Crier.

Stephanie Fortino, the reporter from the St. Ignace News/Town Crier who wrote the wonderful story about Lowell & Faye’s trip to the Island, rode up to the condo this afternoon, and we all chatted about Bree’s Blog for over two hours. The story should run in the October Town Crier.  I love working with Stephanie – another enthusiastic – and very professional - young lady.

WEDNESDAY WALK

After Stephanie hurried down the hill to catch the ferry, Ted and I took Maddie and Bear for a long walk.  I am always amazed at some of the bizarre formations of the island's

After Stephanie hurried down the hill to catch the ferry, Ted and I took Maddie and Bear for a long walk. I am always amazed at some of the bizarre forms aged or dead trees take on over the years.  These trunks on Cupid’s Pathway seemed almost fossilized.

ggg

Rays of sunlight breaking through thick still-green foliage.

Now that Bear is feeling better, he is getting rid of a lot of pent-up energy on every walk.  Once off-leash in the woods he breaks into an all-out run and races through bushes and over fallen trees like a pack of wolves is after him.

Now that Bear is feeling better, he is getting rid of a lot of pent-up energy on every walk. Once off-leash in the woods he breaks into an all-out run and races through bushes and over fallen trees like a pack of wolves is after him.

Then he stops, digs a hole . . . .

Then he stops, digs a hole . . . .

. . . . grabs a stick . . .

. . . . grabs a stick . . .

. . . and chews.

. . . and chews.

And then he starts all over again!

And then he starts all over again! 

How they like to end every walk . . . running up the hill at the Carriage Museum to get treats from Denise!

How they like to end every walk . . . running up the hill at the Carriage Museum to get treats from Denise!

Well, I guess you didn’t know when you sat down to read this you were going to be here this long!  I’ve really been out a lot with the camera this week! 

I still haven’t worked out the details with Liz Ware about my night at Silver Birches, but hopefully that is still going to happen. 

One big bit of news.  We had an offer on the condo this week, but after counter offers and re-counter offers, we just couldn’t get together on price.  So . . . no sale on that one. 

Hoping everyone is having a good week.  Stay safe, stay well, and I’ll see you back here in a few days!  God bless.

Responses

  1. Love Bear’s energy caught in these photos!!

  2. The flower pictures are beautiful.

  3. You have no idea how your blog makes me feel. I can smell the fudge and the horses and gosh, I’ve walked that boardwalk so many times. Also, Bruce and I will be heading down to J L Beanery each morning for our latte after breakfast, usually at the Pancake House. The flowers are still gorgeous and I expect they will still be in full bloom when we arrive. You took such wonderful photos of all the places we get around to when we visit. I’m so ready to get back to the island!
    Great pics of Bear running full tilt in the woods and so glad he’s feeling better, finally.
    Again, LOVE LOVE your blog! Hope to see you weekend after next Bree!

    Joleen

  4. Thanks for the great read and pictures. I am thinking of head up to my cabin, on M 119 for the weekend. Your pictures are saying go north!

  5. Gorgeous photos. Love the photo of the frog with the cellphone and the fog bank.

  6. Loved all the pictures and story today! Its great to see Bear back to his good ol’ self! Really started my day out right with this blog.

    Thank you!

  7. Yup. have to agree with everyone else…love it all! I remember being there the third week in October and was so amazed at how many beautiful flowers were still in bloom. Beautiful! So happy that my son and his new wife will be able to enjoy it all in a few days. She loves taking pictures too so this will be just perfect. :)

  8. I love the pictures of Bear!! You can see the excitement in his eyes!! I’m always amazed by how the seasons seem to be magical on Mackinac. All of them! We’ve been to the island in the summer and in the fall and I have to say, fall is my favorite. Although when we go, we see the last of the color. Just another few weeks and we’ll be there. It’ll be our 15th year of visiting in October!! I’m getting antsy! Enjoy your day!!
    P.S. Any word on if Marc will be reopening his bakery at all next season? I’m really going to miss him!

    • I haven’t heard anything about Marc reopening, Amy. We all miss him!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  9. We have loved seeing you a couple of times this week! Maybe one more before we leave? Maybe Bear can take a walk with us today, too there’s a tentative plan to walk Hershey. Maybe we should make it a play date. :)

  10. Oh….those flower baskets! Every summer I buy a few in hopes that they’ll look like that. I’m thinking the trees on Cadotte will always be the ‘new trees’ to me. Glad to hear Bear is feeling better-love the action shots!

  11. The flowers were so impressive to us a few weeks ago. You captured them well. Who else has a grocery store with such lovely flowers out front, and pictured with the bikes out front, it proves there’s nothing like Mackinac Island in the world.

  12. Hi Bree,
    this is the first summer in many years that I/we didn’t make it to the island. I am still hopefull for the fall with at least one of my daughters but just in case I wanted to say thank you for this blog. All the wonderful pics of just day to day stuff or stuff that you ‘would ‘ notice if you slowed down and ‘smelled the roses’ so to speak like you do. So I really appreciate your efforts and your blog.

    Also, I use to pride myself on knowing the island pretty well until your blog came around. I dont know if you have done this already but I would love to see pictures of the ‘secret spots’ that normal tourist dont know about ( like restaurants, the other golf courses..etc). Anyway, enjoy the island while you can and I wish you the best on wherever you end up.

    Jeff

    • Thank you so much, Jeff, for your kind words. Looks like we’re not going anywhere for a while yet, and that’s perfectly ok! Hmmmm . . . Don’t know if there are any more “secret” places I haven’t already talked about. I’ll have to think about that!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  13. Beautiful! Felt like I was back on the island again!

  14. Missed seeing you on the island last week (thurs-sunday). Went to Stuart house but you only work mondays. Then talked with Jill at bookstore and was informed you were at condo reading book and Ted at Chippewea watching game. Went to Chippewea but couldn’t find Ted! Someone asked me what we did on Mackinac? My reply was ” Look for Bree”. We had fun playing golf for 2 days and of course biking…We’ve been going to “Mac” for the last 32 yrs. and I wanted to give you a copy of my newest children’s book “The Adventures of Shawn and Jeremy with Sister Nicole on Mackinac Island” . Thought it might be a fun read back in Georgia with the grandkids.(The Island Bookstore has a copy I sent them by mail).

    Don Rogers

    • Oh no, Don! So sorry we missed each other! Is the Island Bookstore selling your book?

      • I tried to track Brenda when I was there as well. I think the woman at the Carriage Museum thought I was a stalker. LOL..aren’t we all curious, interested in meeting Brenda? (I hope it just isn’t me). On one trip I did see Ted riding his bike downtown! We looked for Bear too! Not only a great blog but a little bit of Sherlock Holmes….. it is like where in the world Is Bree or where is Bree!

      • Dianne, your comment made me laugh out loud. Thank you!!
        P.S. Judy at the Carriage Museum mentioned someone had asked about me. The word “stalking” didn’t come up 😃!

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

  15. I guess not they have enough children’s books on Mackinac Island. I am trying other venues and the hotels.

  16. Been under the weather, your photos brought a smile! Bear looks like a white wolf racing toward the camera….love it!! Flowers indeed outstanding this year…..so much beauty. /thanks.

    • Oh no, Judy! So sorry you’re not feeling well, and prayers lifting for better days very soon.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  17. Beautiful pictures! We’ll be there next week for a few days — looking so forward to it!

  18. You put a smile on my face today ……those pictures of Bear were so cute and funny. I too am counting down the days until our trip ….a little over two weeks to go. Still trying to decide where to stay this time…..I like to try new places, so we’ll see.

  19. Those flowers are just the most beautiful. You always can make me feel like I’m there. And Bear, he’s the best. So glad he’s feeling better. His action shots are just pawsome.

  20. Brenda,

    I’m glad Bear is getting back to his “old self,” but I’m sure I’m not nearly as glad as he is.

    Just one picture after another and every one more beautiful than the last one. You sure know how to please your blog readers. The picture of the fog bank was really unique. I’ve never seen anything like it.

    It was so nice to see Stephanie again. Very nice picture of her.

    I hope we can get to the Island in the Fall. Maybe October next year for a day or two? At least I can hope.

    • Something to look forward to, Lowell! Wish y’all could have been here this week. Not too much fall color yet, but the weather has been perfect!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  21. Love the photos! The gardens were one of my favorite parts on my visit to the island. Will have to try to visit in the summer or fall next year. Was there in May for the first time. Had so much fun I came back in June for the Lilac festival. They were absolutely beautiful. So glad I found your blog. It makes me feel like I keep going back for little glimpses.

    • Awwww . . Thanks , Kristina!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  22. We were there from Tues afternoon through Friday pm. The weather was just great all week, not too hot and not too cold. My wife and I had a great time and we just love Mackinac so much. Thanks for your blog, Brenda, it helps to feed the need for the Island when we aren’t there.

  23. Loved the pictures of the flowers and always have a soft spot for the Bear pictures.

    Tell Ted I was so excited for him when Georgia beat LSU! What a game!

    Also if Ted likes history & cars let him know that I am in Pierce, Nebraska with Tony to attend a famous old car auction. This is an auction that has been mention on CNN. The History Channel did a 3 hour documentary on it last night. A Chevy dealer & his wife ran a dealership from 1940′s to 1990′s in this little town of 1700 and whatever didn’t sell each year he kept and any trades he also kept. Now he and his wife are selling off nearly 500 cars with the auction being held in a previous soybean field About 100 are brand new with less that 10 miles! Extremely interesting auction.

    Have a nice weekend!

    • Yvonne- that auction DOES sound unique! And you are right – that GA/LSU game was awesome! I almost had 10 heart attacks, and I don’t even LIKE football.

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  24. So many wonderful pictures! The one of Cadotte from the Grand made me stop and stare for a few moments. I could almost see my kids walking up and down the sidewalk on the right as we did while we were there in August. It was such a nice trip. Mustn’t wait seven years for the next time! Thanks, Bree.

  25. When we were there in early Sept. I was in awe of the flowers. I love all your pictures. Mackinac Island and flowers just go hand in hand. I took more pictures of flowers than anything else.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 700 other followers

