Posted by: bree1972 | September 6, 2013

Riding After Labor Day 9/6/2013

Thursday was one of those perfect Mackinac days (ok, ok, I KNOW I say that a lot) – the sun was warm, the breeze was cool, the sky was blue, the waves were dancing, and M-185, the highway around the island, was all but deserted.  In my bike basket I stuffed my camera (both lens), sweatshirt (in case it got too breezy on one side of the island – which it nearly always does), water bottle, purse (might need something at the Cannonball) and iPhone.  I turned on my “MapMyRide” app and coasted as fast as the law allows (20 mph) down Cadotte, turned right on Mahoney, then right on M-185.  I was on my way!

I always right around the island "clock-wise" - mainly because 90% of everyone else rides counterclockwise, and I like riding on the side with the fewest people.  After Labor Day is doesn't really matter.

I always ride around the island “clock-wise” – mainly because 90% of everyone else rides counterclockwise –  and I like riding on the side of the road with the fewest people. After Labor Day is doesn’t really matter, but I headed west as usual.

I started out around 2 o'clock, and the sun was turning the blue water into

I started out early in the afternoon ,when the sun was turning the blue water into a glittering canvas.

It was so quiet on the highway I could hear only the sounds created by nature - birds calling back and forth, waves splashing against the shore rocks, the wind singing through the trees.  Ahead of me, around almost every turn, I could glimpse the blue water of Lake Huron.

It was so quiet on the highway I could hear all the sounds created by nature – birds calling back and forth, waves splashing against the shore rocks, and the wind singing through the trees. Ahead of me, around almost every turn, I could glimpse the blue water of Lake Huron . . .

. . . . and above me the Michigan blue sky, mottled only slightly by wispy clouds.

. . . . and above me was the Michigan blue sky, mottled only slightly by wispy clouds.

I stopped only a few times in the first 3 1/2 miles, but when I got to the Cannon Ball, I became obsessed with capturing the seagulls.  Because there were no crowds, the bored seagulls were very patient with me.  I offered no food so they mostly ignored me and hardly moved until I was practically on top of them.

I stopped for pics only a few times in the first 3 1/2 miles, but when I got to the Cannonball, I became obsessed with photographing the seagulls. Because there were no crowds handing out food (or accidently dropping it) the bored seagulls mostly ignored me and hardly moved until I was practically on top of them.

Click on each seagull to enlarge.

Click on each seagull to enlarge.

Between the birds and trying to get a perfect photo of a wave hitting a rock, I spent probably 20 minutes at the Cannonball.

Between the birds and trying to get a perfect photo of a wave hitting a rock, I spent probably 20 minutes at the Cannonball.  I never did get that perfect wave.

You just can't leave British Landing without one photo of the cannon.

You just can’t leave British Landing without one photo of the cannon.

Ok.  Here's a mystery I wish someone would help me with.  About 1/2 mile before I reached Arch Rock I saw - way out on the horizon - a sailboat.  To the left was what looked like trees.  The mystery is: what are the images out in the water around the sailboat?  I don't think it's land, and I don't think it could be other boats.  This photo was using my long lens zoomed as far out as it would go . . . .

Ok. I hope someone could help me with this mystery. About 1/2 mile before I reached Arch Rock I saw – way out on the horizon – a sailboat. To the left was what looked like trees along a shoreline.. The mystery is: what are the images out in the water around the sailboat? I don’t think it’s trees on land, and I don’t think it could be other boats. This photo was using my long lens zoomed as far out as it would go . . . .

. . . . and here I've cropped it as close as possible.

. . . . and here I’ve cropped it as close as possible.  Optical illusion of some sort?

If you're one of those visitors who doesn't think your trip to Mackinac is complete unless you've climbed the steps from M-185 to Arch Rock (or vice-versa), you probably know the steps were partially destroyed by a late snow and ice storm in the spring of 2012.  It's taken almost a year-and-a-half to repair them (they are redoing ALL the steps, not just those wiped out by trees in the storm).

If you’re one of those visitors who doesn’t think your trip to Mackinac is complete unless you’ve climbed the steps from M-185 to Arch Rock (or vice-versa), you probably know those steps were partially destroyed by a late snow and ice storm in the spring of 2012. It’s taken almost a year-and-a-half to repair them (they are redoing ALL the steps, not just those wiped out by trees in the storm).

. . . .

The men working on this project have toiled on steep inclines in rocky and wooded terrain.  The gentleman shown here was digging rocky soil with a shovel and then switched to a drill to get through the rock.  The steps should be completed and open to traffic with the opening of the 2014 season.  Awesome job, guys!

Another Mackinac Island icon that can't be passed without a photo.  Unlike the cannon, this one changes throughout the day as the sun passes by.

Another Mackinac Island icon that can’t be passed without a photo. Unlike the cannon at British Landing, this one changes throughout the day as the sun passes by.

My last stop was Mission Point Resort.  As I turned into the bike parking lot near the gazebo, workers turned on the sprinklers, and I thought, “Oh, darn!  There goes THIS photo shoot!”  Boy, was I wrong!

Each year the gazebo's flowers get more beautiful.

Each year the gazebo’s flowers get more beautiful.

Masses of Black-Eyed Susans provide a riot of color in the flowerbeds surrounding the gazebo.

Masses of Black-Eyed Susans provide a riot of color in the flowerbeds surrounding the gazebo.

vvv

Ahhhhhh . . . . .

kkkk

My favorite shot . . . twin rainbows arching toward the gazebo.  Right place at the right time!

Next week will be a busy one with a great story coming toward the end of the week about the return of Mackinac’s own Statue of Liberty back to the island in time for Patriots Day on September 11.  I’ve gotten permission to be on board the boat bringing it back to the island, and I’m so excited to be able to tell this story. 

Wishing you all a fantastic weekend.  God bless.

Responses

  1. Bree, those objects by the sailboat look like they could be spinnakers. The large one closest to the sailboat sure looks like a spinnaker.

    • I know, Ed, but why aren’t they as distinct as the sailboat, which passed behind one of them.

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Beautiful pictures Brenda! My pictures never come out as nice. Can’t wait to come back in a couple of weeks. Hope the weather stays nice.

  3. Like the bacon video. Pictures are great. Make me wish I were there.

    • Bacon video?????

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. Brenda,

    I’m wondering if the images just above the water could have been a mirage, thus a reflection of something on land from somewhere else. According to Wikipedia (Oh I know it’s not supposed to be depended on, but what it said sounded logical.), “In contrast to a hallucination, a mirage is a real optical phenomenon which can be captured on camera, since light rays actually are refracted to form a false image at the observer’s location. What the image appears to represent, however, is determined by the interpretive faculties of the human mind.”

    Aside from that, the pictures in this blog are really good. I really enjoyed every one. Also, I guess I was like most of the tourists because I always rode counterclockwise around the Island. I wonder why it is that most people ride that direction.

    • Another mystery, Lowell!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. Haven’t written in a while, but love your blog as always. We were on the island for a week in early August. Loved every minute of it, even if we had a fair amt of rain when we were there. We missed seeing you again, as usual. I think your son was in town, so didn’t want to bother you. Enjoy these “quieter” times on the island!

  6. What a paradise you captured again. You are so lucky to be able to live on the island. It must be so nice and quiet now that the season has slowed down, makes it even more special I think…Thanks for sharing again, always special for me to get my island fix each time you post.

  7. I was told that they are the trees in the U.P. from Hessel and the Snows. Some kind of infraction? Have seen them for over 40 years! Was always amazed when I would see them. Not all the time. Might be a scientific answer somewhere. By the way nice seeing you today!

    • Wow, Cassandra. That is truly awesome’

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. We go the same way around the island too Brenda…although we don’t have a reason..just the way we have always gone. We actually saw the guys working on the steps to Arch Rock when we walked M-185 last trip. I give these guys alot of credit. They are doing a great job. Love the rainbow picture.
    Miss my friends and the island. :(

  9. This post and the last post a few days ago (school is in session) are all the reasons to take your condo off the market immediately!…….You and your camera are just right on point! Love the Gazebo pictures at Mission Point. Definitely going to share those with Sirena, and of course you know how much I like Seagulls too. I can only speak for me but I’m sure the rest of the gang feels the same way. That viewing these photos and reading the captions……..just makes you feel that we are all enjoying the day with you, or riding around the island with you.

    Top notch Mrs B! How is Ted and the hounds doing?

    • Ted, Bear and Maddie are great, Jason. Ted’s beloved football has begun, so all is right in his world – except Georgia lost last week.

      Sent from my iPhone

  10. Hi Brenda, great photos, as always. :) I wish I was physically able to do that ride around the island,it would be heavenly. I would take a ton of photos.
    I am planing a little trip up there with a friend in October. Can’t wait!
    Have a super weekend.

  11. Wonderful as always! I’m so anxious to get up there in early October, for our annual fall trip. You see the island exactly how I see it and have been trying to talk my husband into purchasing a place (possibly yours) up there to spend the spring, summer, and fall seasons. I love living through your blog!! Thanks Bree and again I hope we see you up there when we visit. Joleen

    • I love the island in October, Joleen. Of course I love the island every other month also! Would love to show you our condo.

      Sent from my iPhone

      • Bree we will be arriving on the island on Sun. Oct. 6 and staying at the Iroqoius for 3 nights, possibly longer depending on the weather. Hope to see you and we’ll be in touch. We are bringing two other couples, of which 3 of the 4 have never been to the island. I’m sure they will also fall in love with it as we have. Hope to see you then!

      • Sounds like a great time. Joleen!

        Sent from my iPhone

  12. We’ll be on the island arriving late afternoon on Monday. Looking forward to the September 11 gathering – we met you and Ted for the first time there last year! Sounds like it’s going to be a little rainy but who cares – it’s vacation and it’s Mackinac. What do they say, “a bad day on Mackinac is better than a good day anywhere else!” Can’t wait – maybe we’ll see you again!

    • Sounds good, Kate!

      Sent from my iPhone

  13. The gazebo picture with the rainbow is amazing. You have so much talent! Thanks for taking us readers along with you on your ride! LOL!

  14. Those trees in the sailboat picture are exactly that – trees, probably near Hessel. You’ve shot a picture of a mirage. Optically speaking, it’s *EXACTLY* the same thing as that “puddle” way off in the distance that you sometimes see on hot days when driving a long straight stretch of highway. A layer of warmer (or possibly cooler – same effect either way) air hanging near the surface of the lake was acting as a mirror/lens, reflecting and refracting the “over-the-horizon” view so that you could see it from your low-to-the-water angle. If you’d been up on the bluff, you probably wouldn’t have seen it at all. (Or perhaps you’d have seen the trees, but due to your higher angle, you’d have been seeing them directly) The only difference between the “puddle” and what you shot is that the angles were just right to show you the trees that, without the mirage, would have been out of sight over the horizon, rather than the reflected sky view that the “puddle on the road” version shows you.

  15. They look like spinnakers, just farther away than the one you can make out.

  16. Having spent summers in the U.P. for many many moons, when I stand down by the beach on Lake Michigan, I see those same things. They are indeed trees. Lansing Sholls to be exact and Beaver Island.
    Your pics in this blog are beautiful. The flowers are so great at this time of year.

  17. Brenda, I agree with all of the “reflection/mirage” comments. Something that could be happening in addition is that the camera is taking what you can see with your naked eye and processes it differently or tries to correct it. That could result in it standing out even more, changing shapes, going away, etc depending on what the camera does with it. So something like a tree (thats already distorted because of the reflection) can start to look like many other things. I have a few photos of Loch Ness :-)

  18. Agree that the gazebo picture with the rainbow is stunning!

    Brenda, Did you know you had mention in the Michigan Country Lines magazine? I’ll have to send you the link so you can see it!

  19. Glad to see that you’re truly “back in the saddle” again Brenda and free from what ailed you.

    Once you get to Mission Point, what route do you normally take home? This time of year, I guess you don’t have to worry about the downtown traffic but – UGH!- that Cadotte Ave.! And AFTER you’ve already biked the circle ’round? UGH!

    I’d be tempted to walk my bike up behind Mission Point to the East Bluff. When we go to the Woods or Stonecliff that’s the route we take.

    • There’s no “good” way, Susan, but here’s what I normally do: turn by Doud’s and walk my bike up Fort Hill (it’s steep but it’s a short hill compared to Cadotte). At Governor’s residence, I turn right, then left at the State Park maintenance buildings (before you get to fort). I cut through the maintenance area which brings you out on Cupid’s pathway where it divides. There is a little trail through the woods right there at the division that I ride my bike through. It comes out at the road BEHIND the Surrey Hill Carriage Museum. I zip up that road (even though it says “do not enter”, if you stop and listen, you can hear whether a carriage is coming up the road, which means you wait until it passes), and I’m home. Are you thoroughly confused? Once you get to the top of Fort Hill it’s all level biking. On Cadotte, it’s uphill all the way.

      Sent from my iPhone

  20. Wonderful pictures….loved the rainbows at Mission Point. How far is it around the island? Is the cannonball still open? Hope I get to meet you the first week in October!

    • Hi Jeani! 8.2 miles around the island, and yes the Cannonball is still open!

      Sent from my iPhone


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 728 other followers

