Posted by: bree1972 | August 8, 2013

Catching Up . . . Again 8/8/2013

When a story like Silver Birches comes along, everything else doesn’t stop – it just gets pushed into the background for a few days.  So here I am again . catching up.  The easiest way to do that is with photos.  I’ve been bouncing around the island a lot this week, so here we go . . .

ALL AROUND THE ISLAND

Walking out the door the other evening to take Maddie and Bear for a stroll, I was met by two drays full of people.  I'm assuming they were on the way to British Landing on a hayride, although those hayrides usually follow the shoreline road to the Cannonball.  Maybe this was a private party.  Anyway, they were all having a grand time!

Walking out the door the other evening to take Maddie and Bear for a stroll, I was met by two drays full of happy people. I’m assuming they were on the way to British Landing on a hayride, although those hayrides usually follow the shoreline road to the Cannonball. Maybe this was a private party. Anyway, they were all having a grand time!

This seagull was enjoying the sun while perched on a bike rack railing across from Trinity Church.

Mr/Mrs/Miss/Ms Seagull was enjoying the sun, while perched on a bike rack across from Trinity Church.

The high-wheelers were in town the other day, and this lady had stopped in the street to explain that she was riding what was once called "an elderly lady or gentleman's bike".

The high-wheelers were in town the other day, and this lady had stopped in the street to explain her bike was specially made for “elderly ladies and gentlemen”.

The shady seclusion of a garden on the West Bluff.

The shady seclusion of a garden on the West Bluff.

Remember that tree that fell near the Lakeview Hotel during that recent windstorm?  Here's what it looked like after being chopped up.

Remember that tree that fell near the Lakeview Hotel during the recent windstorm? Here’s what it looked like after being chopped up.

View of Mission Point from Robinson's Folly.

View of Mission Point from Robinson’s Folly.

ttttt

From that same location it’s so easy to see how clear the waters of Lake Huron are.  Robinson’s Folly is a pretty high point – that tiny little speck down there on the small white sandy spot in the middle of the pic is a person.

Looking over the rooftops from the East Bluff.

Looking over the rooftops from the East Bluff . . .

. . . where wildflowers bloom along wooden fences.

. . . where wildflowers bloom along wooden fences.

A private tour buggy stops at a lookout point on the East Bluff so visitors can get out for photographs of the town below.

A private tour buggy stops at a lookout point on the East Bluff so visitors can get out and photograph the town and harbor below.

Carriages full of visitors continue their journeys down the East Bluff Road as a freighter slips out of sight around the curve of the island.

As a freighter slips out of sight around the curve of the island, carriages full of visitors continue their journey down the East Bluff Road

vvv

His and hers bikes.  Maybe they’ve walked down the wooded path to Anne’s Tablet.

Now you see them . . . now you don't.

Now you see them . . . now you don’t.

Take one old, broken window in a wooden barn still standing among the State Park maintenance buildings . . .

Take one old, broken window in a wooden barn still standing among the State Park maintenance buildings . . .

. . . and frame it!

. . . and frame part of it!

The trail that begins at the maintenance barns and ends at Cupid's Pathway.

The trail that begins at the maintenance barns and ends at Cupid’s Pathway.

AT THE GRAND

The flower beds at the Grand Hotel are at the peak of their glory right now.  Below are a few examples . . .

The flower beds at the Grand Hotel are at the peak of their glory right now. Below are a few examples . . .

Giant dahlias in a Grand Hotel flower bed below Sadie's Ice Cream Parlor.


IMG_6324

IMG_6320

IMG_6318

AT THE STUART HOUSE

Blog reader Andrea and her two beautiful daughters Delaney and Sydney stopped by the Stuart House this week.  They are from Macomb, MI.

Blog reader Andrea and her two beautiful daughters Delaney and Sydney stopped by the Stuart House this week. They are from Macomb, MI.

gggggg

Paul Wandrie Sr. (far right) of Mackinac Island’s American Legion Post #299 brought the National Commander of The American Legion, along with the Michigan State Commander and several former State Commanders by the Stuart House on Monday.  Lucky me got to have my photo made with them after they toured the Veterans Rooms in the Stuart House.

AND THEN THERE WERE THE BEES

hive of bees build up large numbers they make a new queen, who leaves the nest causing a swarm of other bees to also leave. They then gather around the new queen wherever she is. Or something like that. 9 hours ago · Like · 1 Breeze Breeze Debbie Durm,Oh I know but why would they pick a place like that,there must've had to been something on there to attacked them to it,cause it is such of un usual place for them to pic,usually they look for better hiding spot then this to built their nest more protective are not in the open .... ? lol 9 hours ago · Like · 1 Breeze Breeze Hope the aint planning on renting Bike out .... ? lol 9 hours ago · Like Debbie Durm They aren't planning on building a nest there; they're just gathering before they head out to find a nest. If you knew of a beekeeper they could come and capture these bees and start a new hive.

One day this week this is what greeted an islander when he returned to his bike.  The bike was quickly moved to a quiet place in a less traveled area.  It was reported that when a hive of bees builds up large numbers they make a new queen, who leaves the nest causing a swarm of other bees to also leave. They then gather around the new queen, wherever she is, and send out workers to find a new place to build a hive. No report on how long the bees stayed on the basket before the workers returned to say, “Come on, Queenie, we’ve found us a new place to make some honey!”

BIKE-AROUND

FFFFFFF

In an effort to use up a few calories, I’ve begun to ride around the island on an almost daily basis.  I began on August 1, and today was the first day I’d missed (Ted forced me to ride to Petoskey with him to Walmart).  I’m loving these rides, and between going up and down Cadotte or up and down British Landing Road to get to the highway around the island, I’m putting in almost 10 miles a day.  Almost got wet on the ride above . . .

. . . but it held off until I got home.

. . . but it held off until I got home.

ABOUT SILVER BIRCHES

The blog post on Silver Birches made history for Bree's Blog.  It brought in the most "hits" I've ever received in one day - 3,097!  From that I'd say there's a heck of a lot of interest in the restoration of this awesome property!

The blog post on Silver Birches made history for Bree’s Blog. It brought in the most “hits” I’ve ever received in one day – 3,097! From that I’d say there’s a heck of a lot of interest in the restoration of this awesome property!

FESTIVAL OF THE HORSE

The Festival of the Horse began today and will continue through Sunday. Michelle Stuck (above) was practicing today on her beautiful Gysbert for a musical kur to be performed during the festival.

The Festival of the Horse began today and will continue through Sunday. Michelle Stuck (above) was practicing today on her beautiful Gysbert for a musical kur to be performed during the festival.  For information on all the events, please click here:  http://www.mackinacislandfestivalofthehorse.org/events.htm (Photo: Mary Stancik)

I believe that catches us up through today, so I’ll sign off now.  I’ll be back on Sunday with lots of news on the Festival of the Horse – and anything else that happens to catch my eye over the next few days.  Y’all have a great weekend!  

God bless.

 

Responses

  1. Bree,
    I always enjoy all of your pics, but your flower pics in this post are so Beautiful. Hopefully they will still look great when I arrive in a month. I really appreciate the time you take on this blog for us to enjoy :)

  2. I wish I could be there for the Festival of the Horse. So, I am so glad you are going to be taking pictures. Can I request photos from the carriage parade? I really wish I could make it to that but I am the only one home to take care of the horses this week and can’t come. Maybe next year. Thanks again for all of your photos. I love them.

  3. Love your framework, especially the broken window. Beautiful photos, as usual.

  4. Brenda,

    Stunning photos as always. You just have a natural talent for capturing the best photos, and illustrating what Mackinac Island really is. I’m gonna have to email you for some of those originals to add to my Mackinac Island screen saver and desktop collection.

    Well done!

    • Just let me know the ones you want, Jason!

      Sent from my iPhone

  5. I love when you do random picture posts Brenda. They are always some of the best, and it’s super hard to pick a favorite. What a beautiful horse Gysbert is!
    16 more days!! :)

  6. Brenda,

    I sit at my computer this morning, listening to the Canada Geese calling and looking at your beautiful pictures. Such enjoyment, and it puts me right there on the Island with you.

    • I can sit right here in my chair on the island and picture you at your computer, Lowell. Have a blessed day!

      Sent from my iPhone

  7. Looking at your beautiful pictures, I want to be back on the island! We saw the the highwheelers too, what a treat. I’m going to make sure the girls see the picture, it was a pleasure meeting you.

    • Same here, Andrea!

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. Beatuiful pictures, we are coming to the Island on Sun. for a few days!!! I can’t wait!!!

    • Safe travels, Karen!

      Sent from my iPhone

  9. Beautiful pictures, thanks so much for sharing!

  10. Bree,
    Seeing your pics of around the island made me wonder what’s the status of the Statue of Liberty restoration?

    • American Legion Post #299 has raised over $33,000 toward the completion of this project, with a little over $21,000 to go, so we’re over half-way there. Personal donations are welcomed and much appreciated.

      Sent from my iPhone

  11. We too are headed to the Island and will be there Monday thru Wed.
    We will miss the festival of the horse by a day, but plan to stop and see you Monday at the Stuart House. Bringing our nephew again and one grandson who has never been to the Island before. Can’t wait!
    Oh, by the way, I have a pink bike just like the one in your photo!

    • Looking forward to seeing you, Karen! I love that pink bike!

      Sent from my iPhone

  12. Love reading your blog. Seems like there is always somthing fun going on around the island. Have you ever visitied the island during the winter?

    • I have, Cris! If you go back through the archives to the winter months, you’ll find I try to come up at least once each winter. Mackinac in the winter is so incredibly beautiful it almost goes beyond description. If you’ve never seen the video CD “Ice Bridge”, I highly recommend you order it from the Island Bookstore website. It is beautifully filmed by a couple from the island who also wrote the amazing music that accompanies it.

  13. Love, love the flower pictures. Your camera is awesome. I know you’ve told us before, but what kind is it?
    I’d just about give my left ear to walk off the ferry, smell the sweet fudge, hear the clip-clop of the horses, and soak in one beautiful flower after another. School has started back, and I miss the serenity of the island more than ever.
    Thanks for the updates – they always make me smile.

    • It’s a Canon Rebel T3. I have an 18-55 and 75-300 lens.

      Sent from my iPhone

  14. As always, beautiful pictures, Bree!

    My husband and I just returned from a 5-day visit to Petoskey from Jackson, MI. LOVE the north!! We stayed at a fabulous B&B – The Terrace Inn in Petoskey. We have some great pics as well – memories! It was a refreshing get-away!

  15. Love the ‘broken window’ photographs!

  16. I was traveling and on vacation the past few weeks. I couldn’t wait to catch up on your blog. As usual – AWESOME. Thanks for the great stories and pictures.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 728 other followers

