Posted by: bree1972 | June 13, 2013

Wednesday, Thursday . . . Happy Days! 6/13/2013

This week has been awesome!

Weather: Beautiful!

Lilacs:  Gorgeous!

Smell in the air:  Sweet!

Activities:  Everywhere!

Opportunities for photography:  Boundless!

Therefore:  It’s PHOTO NIGHT!

Good friend Bonnie dropped by the condo this week while she was visiting Mackinac for a few days!  See you back again soon, Bonnie!

While she was visiting Mackinac for a few days, good friend Bonnie dropped by the condo with Jill.  Come back again soon, Bonnie!

Bear:  "This is me - playing dead."

Bear:   This is me playing dead.  As soon as Mom gets all worried . . . .

Bear:  "Fooled you, didn't I?  I LOVE doing that!"

. . . . I roll around and laugh. “I fooled you again, didn’t I?!”   I LOVE doing that!

We rode up past the airport yesterday for lunch with Steve & Orietta.  That's one end of the airport runway - just beyond that second fence.

We rode up past the airport yesterday to have lunch with Steve & Orietta.  Just beyond that second fence is one end of the Mackinac Island Airport runway.

Later that afternoon we took a long walk in the cool woods, where the ground cover is about to be covered in flowers.  On the right side is Lily-of-the-Valley.  On the left will be tiny, perfect purple flowers.  Anyone know that those are?

Later that afternoon we took Maddie and Bear on a long walk in the cool woods, where the green ground cover is about to be flowering ground cover. On the left side is Lily-of-the-Valley (if you look closely, you can already see little white specks). On the right will be tiny, perfect purple flowers.  Anyone know what those are?

I can't seem to get away from the woods this week.  I've missed being out there the first four weeks we were here, and I guess I'm trying to make up for it now.

I can’t seem to get away from the woods this week. I missed being out there the first four weeks we were here because of the weather, and I guess I’m trying to make up for it now.

The Lady Slippers are out . . .

The Lady Slippers are out . . .

. . . and perfectly beautiful.

. . . and perfectly beautiful.  Can’t you just see magical fairies slipping these on their feet at night?

Found beside the road.

Found beside the road.

Dandelion close-up.

Up close with a dandelion.  Have I mentioned have much I love my new camera?

Today (Thursday) we took the pups on a walk along Pontiac Trail.

Today (Thursday) we took the pups on an outing toward the West Bluff and followed the road behind the bluff houses.  Isn’t it amazing what a few days of warm temps and sunshine can do to the landscape?!

This fire hydrant is almost hidden in the lush vegetation.

This fire hydrant is almost hidden in the lush vegetation.

Looking between the summer cottages to Lake Huron.

Looking across the back yards and between the summer cottages to Lake Huron.

A shady place to read a book.

A shady place to read a book or just sit and watch your garden grow.

One of my favorite "viewing spots".

One of my favorite “viewing spots” – framed by trees and surrounded with a white picket fence.

View from Pontiac Trail today - the first time I've been up there this year.

View from Pontiac Trail today – the first time I’ve been up there this year.

A recently

A recently renovated West Bluff cottage -  almost hidden by Lilac trees which must be decades and decades old.

ccccc

Love this shade of purple!

A cottage against the blue sky . . .

The top floor of a cottage against the blue sky . . .

. . . and Honeysuckle against blue water.

. . . and Honeysuckle against blue water.

A curve in Pontiac's Trail . . . bordered with wild flowers.

A curve in Pontiac Trail . . . bordered with wild flowers.

"Somebody threw a potato chip in here.  I can smell it!"

“Somebody threw a potato chip in here. I can smell it!”

One of Michelle's Friesians.

One of Michelle’s Friesians.

A thick hedge of lacy white flowers.

A thick hedge of lacy white flowers.

OTHER GOODIES!

Things you don't see everyday on Mackinac . . . three semi-trucks on your street, turning into the  Arrowhead Livery.

Things you don’t see everyday on Mackinac . . . three semi-trucks on our street, turning into the Arrowhead stables.  What is it?  Who is it?

What can you see inside the open door of Shepler's Sacre Bleu - their freight boat?

A little clue . . .can you see inside the open door of that semi sitting on the deck of Shepler’s Sacre Bleu – their freight boat?  Those semis were rolled off the boat at British Landing and, with special permission from the City Council, driven to Arrowhead, where . . . .

. . . the Budweiser Clydesdales were unloaded!

. . . out stepped the Budweiser Clydesdales!  (This photo and one above:  Jill Sawatzki).  At 9:00 p.m. I’m typing this blog post and glancing out the window every two minutes.  Last year they walked the Clydesdales over to our yard to exercise them.   So far no horses have appeared.

A huge crowd turned out today for the annual Lilac Festival "A Taste of Mackinac".  Restaurants served up their best fare for those lucky enough to have one of the limited number of tickets for the event.

A big crowd turned out today for the annual Lilac Festival “A Taste of Mackinac”. Restaurants served up their best fare for those lucky enough to have one of the limited number of tickets for the event.

The Lilac Tree Inn & Suites is all decked out in lilac lights for the festival!

The Lilac Tree Hotel is all decked out in lilac lights for the festival!  Very pretty!

French Lane on Wednesday.  (Photo: Jill Sawatzki)

French Lane on Wednesday. (Photo: Jill Sawatzki)

MORE TO COME!

So much excitement coming over the weekend!

Blog reader Theresa is on the island with her family, and we’re going to try and meet up on Friday at Sadie’s.  I’ve promised her children they can pick my 4th flavor to taste!  After that I’m going to try to get down to the Blessing of the Animals with Maddie and Bear at Little Barn in the Mission.

Little Stone Church is hosting a high school A Cappella Choir from Roosevelt High School in Wyandotte, MI, and they’ll be performing at our church service on Sunday.  Ted and I will have two young men from this group staying with us Saturday night, and we are so looking forward to that.  One little glitch . . . we are to pick them up at the ferry dock at the same time as the Pet Parade on Saturday, so I’ll need to beg and borrow someone else’s photos of that event this year.

Of course, Sunday is the big day – the Lilac Festival Grand Parade!

Hoping to post all the weekend fun on Sunday evening, unless I’m just too tuckered out.  If nothing shows up Sunday night, check back on Monday!

Have a great weekend.  God bless.

Responses

  1. The plant with the small purple flower opposite the Lilies of the Valley are Periwinkle.
    Pat Steele
    Vernon, MI

    • Thank you, Pat!

      Sent from my iPhone

  2. Beautiful photos, Brenda! Thank you so much!

  3. The Clydesdales!!! That has to be so exciting to see. And what lucky young men to be hosted by you! I’m sure we’ll read all about their trip soon!

  4. Just found your wonderful blog a couple of weeks ago. I lived and worked on the Island over 30 years ago…Jill Sawatski and I had adjoining apartments in Mr & Mrs. Doud ‘s house and I worked in the Medical Center when Island nurse Stella King (who founded the Lilac Festival to help provide medical care on the Island) was still working there. Love seeing so many familiar faces and sights in your blog! Your sensitivity to the special community there makes it very special. Thank you!

    • Welcome, Karen! So glad you found the blog and that you like it! I know Jill will be excited to hear from you!

  5. What an exciting week!! Instantly when I saw the pictures of the Budweiser Clydesdales, I had to call my sister because she is on the Island for a long weekend. I hope you all get a lot of pictures of them!! Did you notice the case of Bud Light in the last picture of the horses?

  6. Awesome pictures!! Especially love the horse shoe and dandelion pictures.

  7. Beautiful photos, Bree. I hope you didn’t get too close to the fire hydrant. That looks like poison ivy growing around it. “Leaves of three, let them be.”

    • Please tell me you are kidding, Ed! Now I can’t remember if I touched it. I must not have though because I’m highly allergic, and I’d be itching like crazy if I did!

      Sent from my iPhone

  8. Your pictures are beautiful!

  9. Brenda, I feel very special to in your blog, I truly enjoyed my trip to the island this week, fun, friends and flowers. Now a neat treat, to be on your blog, can’t get much better than that 🚴🐴🚴🌸

    • Just hurry and come back, Bonnie!

      Sent from my iPhone

  10. I think the plant on the right side of the lily of the valley is Vinca or purple myrtle. When I worked as a receptionist at MISPC in 1997, a gentleman came in and told me that he planted the myrtle 35 years before at the cemeteries as a ground cover.

    • What a great story, Dawn!

  11. Your photos are AMAZING! What kind of camera are you using?

    • Thank you, Carol! My camera is a Canon Rebel T-3.

      Sent from my iPhone

  12. Love all the pictures! The path behind the west bluff houses is just ONE of my favorites to walk…that’s where I found that red barn . Your camera is pretty amazing Brenda but I think it also has a lot to do with the picture taker. :)

  13. Simply beautiful pictures! Thanks for sharing so many with us.

  14. Great Pic’s!
    Love to hear about your “hidden” stops along the way.

  15. I am such a sucker for the Bear pictures! Our Bear also rolls on his back and waits for his belly to be rubbed. It must be a “Bear” thing. LOL!

  16. GREAT pictures!!!! Can’t pick a favorite. Love those blue skies. Hard to believe it was warmer on the Island Thursday than here in SW Mich. Only 69 here and 72 on the Island….wow!

  17. So glad you posted pics of the west bluff. We had to leave the island today, didn’t get a chance to go up there. You helped complete our trip! :)

  18. My husband promised me a trip this spring to the island and for some reason we didn’t make it. We will be up in the fall for sure, but I wanted to say ” thank you” so much for showing me the beautiful lady slippers, my favorite wildflower. I also hope you get to see those beautiful Clydesdales up by your yard. So jealous. Enjoy the parade tomorrow and I’ll be checking your blog soon after!

  19. Thank you for sharing your photos and writing your blog. My husband and I visited the island August 2009. Would love to see it again someday, but for now I am thankful for you!

  20. We love your new camera too!

  21. I love love love Pontiac Trail! I look forward to my peaceful walks there every year!

  22. Hi Bree- I have been reading your blog for a year or two and I am so excited to report that I am returning to the Island for a day visit with my parents in august. We have a place on Mullett Lake and for 36 years (soon to be 37) I spent all my summers at Silver Lodge resort and then our family cottages. I worked a summer on the island at the Village Inn and I have a special place in my heart for northern MI, Mackinac Island and your blog! I love seeing your photos and watching the seasons through your stories and pictures! I have convinced my father (71) and mother (64) to visit the island again this summer and they have promised to bike around the island with me! I returned to the island in 2010 with my cousins (during a family reunion) and we biked the island and it was so much fun. I would love to meet up with you – even just for a quick hello on the main drag?!?!?! If you would like I can email you privately! Thanks for your posts and have a great day!

    • Hi Ann! What dates in August will you be here?


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 727 other followers

