Posted by: bree1972 | May 19, 2013

First Weekend on the Island 5/19/2013

What a difference a week makes!  Last Sunday it was snowing, 30-something degrees, and winds were howling at 35 miles-per-hour.  Today it’s been a balmy 65 – a perfect day for the first service of the season at Little Stone Church!

Our first week has been about as full as it could possibly get – unpacking, getting the condo listed and photographs to the realtor to place on their website, doing a little spiffing up so the place will look decent when someone comes to look at it.

We’ve walked Maddie and Bear a lot and watched them go crazily happy again (especially Bear) at the freedom of running the woods’ trails and sniffing out all the wonderful scents every tree and bush and blade of grass carries.  They’ve both always loved to go out on the deck in the sun and just watch traffic go by (walkers, bikers, taxis, horse riders, other dogs), and they didn’t waste a moment re-establishing that tradition.  It’s always fun to see them almost immediately fall into their “Mackinac” habits – Bear hitting our grass hill at a full run, then falling over – on purpose – so hard he makes an actual “thump” sound and rolling over and over in the cool grass.  That is followed by a quick check to see if Denise is outside at the Carriage Museum.  If she sees him, and she’s not busy, she will whistle, and he takes off at a dead sprint to collect his treat.  Maddie follows behind as quickly as she can pull Ted over there.  Sometimes Bear doesn’t see Denise and goes anyway.  Denise will find him in the little storage room inside the museum, sitting quietly looking at the shelf where the treats are kept.  Bear loves this game, and Denise spoils them both rotten.

Jill took this photo today of "lookers" at Mackinac Realty.  The condo's photo and specs just went up in the window yesterday.  I can remember Ted and I looking in that windows for years before our dream finally came true.

Jill took this photo today of “lookers” at Mackinac Realty. Our condo’s photo and specs just went up in the window yesterday. I can remember Ted and I looking in that windows for years before our dream finally came true.

Saturday was the Zoo-De-Mack event, which has grown over the years into one of the craziest party nights on Mackinac.  The Zoo-De-Mack is one of the most scenic bike rides in the country, and the 51-mile, six to seven hour course is NOT A RACE, but a gathering of approximately 4,000 outdoor enthusiasts who just like to enjoy a little physical exercise together.  The pre-ride party is at Zoo Bar at Boyne Highlands in Harbor Springs and the ride ends in Mackinaw City (hence Zoo-De-Mack).  Riders then head by ferry to Mackinac Island for the post-ride party!

When Ted and I started out on date night Saturday night, we knew it would be very crowded downtown, and it was!

The Pink Pony bar was packed, the restaurant was packed, the outside bar and eating area was packed . . .

The Pink Pony bar was packed, the restaurant was packed, the outside bar and eating area was packed . . .

. . . and the hot tub was packed!

. . . and the hot tub was packed!

We wisely left the Chippewa to the partiers and walked down to the Seabiscuit, where we had a wonderful dinner, met up with a few Island friends, and chatted for an hour or so.  We taxied home.  Very nice date, Mr. Horton!

The first service at Little Stone Church this morning was wonderful.  Dr. Vince Carroll, our minister, is always a joy to listen to, and the service is also when we first see so many of the Island summer residents.  It seems a lot of us arrive during the same week each year, and we’re all so busy after we get here that the first time we get to see each other is at the first church service.  Lots of hugging going on this morning!

I was very excited to discover this morning on the walk to church that there ARE tulips at the Grand this spring.  This small bed is the first one you pass as you approach the Grand, and it is about to burst into bloom

I was very excited to discover on the walk to church that there ARE tulips at the Grand this spring. This small bed is the first one you pass as you approach the Grand, and it is about to burst into bloom.  The tulips are sharing the glory with the daffodils!

The old Grand stable is gone, and in its place is a small storage barn.  Looks empty there right now, but I'm sure the Grand has a plan in place that will make everyone happy.

The old Grand stable is gone, and in its place is a small storage barn. The space looks pretty empty right now, but I’m sure the Grand has a plan in place that will make everyone happy.

I can never understand how I can leave the church walking home, and Ted can leave at the same time on his bike going to town for his newspaper and to Doud's - only to have him catch up with me on the hill!  I think it may have something to do with how many stops I make along the way to chat and take pics!

I can never understand how I can leave the church walking home, and Ted can leave at the same time on his bike going to town for his newspaper and to Doud’s – only to have him catch up with me on the hill! I think it may have something to do with how many stops I make along the way to chat and take photos – or it could be how SLOW I walk! Frankly, I’m still a little ticked off that he jumped on that bike the second day we were here, rode into town, and rode all the way back up the hill – without stopping!  How does he do that!?

Blog reader Tina and her husband Jamie stopped by this afternoon for a few minutes.  So glad to finally meet Tina - who is a huge fan of Mackinac Island and is hoping to live here one day.

Blog reader Tina and her husband Jamie stopped by this afternoon .  So glad to finally meet Tina – who is a huge fan of Mackinac Island and is hoping to live here one day.

Bear made a new friend this afternoon - Jack, a chocolate lab who lives a little further up our hill.

Bear made a new friend this afternoon – Jack, a chocolate lab who lives a little further up our hill.

They had great fun chasing each other at full speed around the yard!

They had great fun chasing each other at full speed around the yard!

We got new street signs over the winter!  Love these!

We got new street signs over the winter! Love these!

The condo’s been listed for two days, and we’ve had two couples come look at it.  We can tell already it’s going to be a different summer – having to keep our place “somewhat” clean in case the realtor calls.  We’re about to get our system worked out, which basically calls for each of us to pick up after ourselves on a regular basis – something neither of us is the best at doing.  But we’ll work it out . . .

“Ted!  Your shirt is on the chair!”

“Brenda! Your shoes aren’t in the closet!”

See!  We’ll work it out.

Responses

  1. I pray your place sells quickly so the move will be with GREAT EASE!!! : )

  2. I’m afraid prayers are going to clash. I don’t want the condo to sell until Fall.

    Question: Are the lilacs going to be out by the time we get there? From the looks of the lilac shrubs on your lawn it doesn’t look like it.

    • Can’t tell yet, Lowell, but you can’t go by ours. They are usually a good two weeks behind the ones downtown.

      Sent from my iPhone

  3. I only have one word “Wow”…just wow! It’s finally Summer! :)

    • Yes it is, Hilde!

      Sent from my iPhone

  4. The story of Bear and Maddie in search of treats was great. However, I hope that’s not a tie I see on Ted.

    • Charlie, he’d been to church so yes, it was a tie!

    • Charlie, when I stopped preaching on a regular basis, that was one thing I decided to forego, no more ribbons around the neck. I don’t know who started the idea, but he probably should have been hung by a ribbon.

  5. Bree-Bren,

    I just love your descriptive writing style. I can feel it all right there in front of me: the sights, the smells, the sounds, the energy. The pure love you have for the island.

    Can’t wait to meet you and your husband! (My hubby is coming, too!)

    Order warmth and sunshine for this weekend, will ya?

    ~ Cindy Irish

    • I’ll do my best, Cindy!

      Sent from my iPhone

    • Cindy, I’m not sure that Brenda gives you ALL the smells!

  6. Bree:

    That’s good enough for me. :)

    Lowell:

    We’ll just ignore the smelly side of horse haven up there!

    ~ Cindy

  7. What is Hershey going to think of Bear’s new pal? How fun to see the dogs playing at full speed.

  8. Kudos to your husband. I’ve never been able to ride up that hill without stopping. I’d rather enjoy a nice slow walk. :-)

  9. I too wonder how Ted can ride his bike up that hill………I haven’t been able to do it yet! He must be in tip top shape is all I can say!

  10. Such a nice picture of you and Tina! Bear and his new buddy Jack look like they are enjoying their freedom.

    On a sad note, I didn’t win the lottery this weekend so I can’t make an offer on your condo! LOL!

    • Keep playing, Yvonne! Maybe next week!

      Sent from my iPhone

  11. Hope your place sells quickly and you can rest easy. I think you have a great plan and I know God will provide.

  12. I am a full time realtor down state. It must be very interesting (and different) to be one on Mackinac. I imagine it is much slower. The housing market in Metro Detroit is on fire!! We don’t have enough homes by far. So many buyers.

    Side note, not sure if it is still listed, but Lakewood Cottage was for sale last year. That is the first thing I’d buy if I won the lottery tomorrow!

    • Jeff!! You wouldn’t want our little condo!? LOL! It’s much slower up here, but things are picking up . . . we hope!

      Sent from my iPhone

  13. I am still bummed out you guys are selling your place on the island.

    • Don’t be bummed out Tom! Even when AND IF it sells, we’ll be back every summer!

      Sent from my iPhone

  14. New Blogger. Excited for the Lilac Festival future.

  15. Absolutely LOVE your blog!! Mackinac Island is my favorite place in the world. Only been there 3 times, but planning on another trip in the near future. Thanks for sharing your lovely photos and thoughts.

    • Thanks so much, Carol! Hope you take the time to go back and read through the archives. We’ve been here a few years now.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 724 other followers

