Posted by: bree1972 | February 3, 2013

Mackinac Island Winter Update – 2/3/2013

Short and sweet today – after all it IS Super Bowl Sunday, and I’m pretty sure 99.9%  of my readers are much more interested in watching the game (or enjoying the party) than in reading a blog!  But –  for the other .1%, here’s what I’ve got for you this week!

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Snow, Snow, SNOW!

It was the PERFECT weekend for the Winter Festival on Mackinac Island – lots of snow (inches and inches of the stuff), cold weather to keep it from melting, and sunny days filled with blue, blue skies.

Friends Jeff and Patrick and their friends Ellyce and Danielle flew over to enjoy all the fun, and here are three of their pics from the weekend.

About to board the plane in St. Ignace for the five-minute hop to the Island.  (Photo: Patrick Conlon)

About to board the plane in St. Ignace for the five-minute hop to the Island. (Photo: Patrick Conlon)

The Grand Hotel sits in icy splendor.  I cannot imagine how cold it has to be inside right now.

The Grand Hotel sits in icy splendor. I cannot imagine how cold it has to be inside right now. (Photo: Patrick Conlon)

Jeff and Danielle check out the area behind Fort Mackinac

Jeff and Danielle check out the area behind Fort Mackinac.  (Photo: Patrick Conlon)

Snow dragon!  James Barch created this amazing sculpture in his yard on the Island.  This talented young man also creates beautiful pottery.

Snow dragon! James Barch created this amazing sculpture in his yard on the Island. This talented young man also creates beautiful pottery.

How many times have I taken photographs from this exact spot during the summer . . . . no many to count!  (Photo: Greg Main)

How many times have I taken photographs from this exact spot during the summer . . . . too many to count! (Photo: Greg Main)

On Saturday the entire Island turned out at Turtle Park for a day of games, sledding and great food.  Chloe, one of Mackinac Wheels' mascots, was THE most popular rider on everyone's sled.  Why?  Because when he gets to the bottom, he pulls the sled back up!

On Saturday the entire Island turned out at Turtle Park for a day of games, sledding and great food. Chloe, one of Mackinac Wheels’ mascots, was THE most popular rider on everyone’s sled. Why? Because when she gets to the bottom, she pulls the sled back up!  (Photo: Greg Main)

What a spectacularly beautiful place Mackinac Island is – and never more beautiful than when covered with several feet of white, unspoiled-by-motor-vehicles snow.  After a slow start to winter, Mother Nature is sure going out of her way to provide plenty of the white stuff lately, and I know Island friends are so thankful.

Below is the link to an awesome video of Saturday at the Winter Festival created by Travis Sredzinski, who is spending his first winter on the island, although he’s been a summer and fall worker for several years.  The sound is choppy on my laptop, but I’m hoping it’s not that way on yours.  If it is, and it’s annoying to you, just do what I did – turn off the sound!  You don’t need sound to enjoy this video – believe me!

http://www.facebook.com/video/embed?video_id=10101242005807322

Have a great week, and God bless each and every one!

Responses

  1. Hi Brenda! Great pics and I loved the video!!!
    God bless you
    HUGs

  2. I love looking at island pictures all covered in snow. It looks so magical.By the way, I’m one of the 1% who would rather read your blog then watch football :) Off to watch the video!!

    • Had to come back to say that the video was great but the best part was watching Cloe run back up that hill with the sled…had me laughing out loud!

  3. Brenda,

    I really liked the pictures, especially the one from the west bluff by Greg Main. I’m going to save that one in my Mackinac Island folder.

    I enjoyed the video, It was choppy on my computer also, but it was crisp and clear (no pun intended) and beautiful. However, I’ll have to say the same thing my cousin, who lives near Dallas, Texas, says, “The snow is nice, it’s just that I’d like to have it be 55 at the same time.”

  4. Thanks for sharing the video at the end! My favorite part was the dog who rides down the hill on the sled and pulls the child back up!!!

    Oh the JOYs!!

  5. Thank you for the pictures

  6. Loved the video! The kids were so cute with their homemade sleds. It must be a blast to be a year-round resident.

  7. video was awesome! I am SO interested in all aspects of the island and have only been there in summer(s). The black lab not only riding the sled but hauling it back up made me lol! Do you know the black lab?

    • Jeff – yes, as Jill says above, she is owned by the Fishers, who own Mackinac Wheels. You can stop by and visit her there next time you’re on the island!

      • Bree, thanks for the reply and we’ll be sure to visit Chloe in the summer. Myself and my wife are total dog nuts so maybe we’ll try and plan a trip to visit the ‘mackinac dogs’ this summer. Thanks again for keeping me connected to the island all year long.

  8. Thanks for sharing the pictures and video. Everyone looked like they were enjoying the day.

  9. Sure makes you want to go to another Winter Festival on the Island, doesn’t it Brenda? I will even buy a GOPRO for video taping IF “we” go!!!!
    LOVED the photos & glad we could watch the video. Chloe is the Chocolate Lab that belongs to Jimmy & Julie of Mackinac Wheels. Their son Jordan was on the sled hauling him back up the hill.

  10. Loved that photo of the Grand and yes, I bet it’s cold inside for sure! We’ve been getting our share of snow in SW Mich. too. Lots of lake effect the last few days. At least a foot on the ground and more coming!

  11. Great pictures! And since I love snow, thank for sharing the video too. It’s amazing what people can find to do in the dead of winter. I loved the chicken bowling — whoever thought of that is just downright creative! Would love to experience winter there myself, although in the Madison area, we have enough snow of our own!!!

  12. Hello and how are you today? I hope good! My wife and I visit the Island twice a year (Sept. and Feb.-Valentines). We will be up on the 14th, 15th, 16th and 17th. I am wondering if we could rent a snowmobile from somebody just to cruze on the Island?

    • Hi Gerald! Aren’t y’all the lucky ones-going to the island for Valentine’s Day! I don’t know of anywhere on the island to rent a snowmobile, but that doesn’t mean there’s not one. I would contact the innkeeper wherever you’re staying and ask them because they will know all the contacts. You can definitely rent cross country skies. Good luck and have a safe trip!

      • Thanks Bree!! We are staying at the Cottage Inn, we love this place and the innkeepers. We love Mackinac Island!!

  13. Hello Bree,

    I’ve been reading this blog since 2011 and yet to post a reply till now, Long time coming. My wife and I are from San Antonio, TX with family in Davison, MI near Flint where I grew up. My wife and I have been together since 2001 and were married on the island 2 years ago at Mission Point. I can’t tell you how much we love the island. I believe I read your blog more than my wife does, but I share your stories and send her links to read from time to time. I absolutely love your writing and getting to see the pictures when we can’t be there ourselves. I’m a defense contractor in the middle east 10 months out of the year and when I have the chance to read the blog it takes my mind away from being over here. So thank you! It’s a long overdue thank you at that.

    My wife and I have visited the island in the winter time and nestled in at Stone Cliff (quite the walk to town in the snow) may have to stay closer to town on our next winter trip. During our summer visits we always stay at Mission Point. Inspired by your writing and the sheer magic the island holds for us we too; one day will have a condo on the island or a cottage on the mainland nearby. I really enjoyed the photos this week; especially the Cherokee 6 at the airport. I’m a student pilot (when I’m home), an aircraft owner, and that is on my bucket list to land at the island in our plane.

    A huge thank you for keeping this blog!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 727 other followers

